Advice Needed Master STC - cant upgrade filmware/satellite memory plan

Mikolaj98

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
1.5m dish
My Location
Scotland
Hi,

a few days ago my dad bought a satellite meter (master stc) from ebay and we are now strugling with it. Whenever we try to upgrade its filmware we get a message: "micro flash upgrading failure" and if we try to update the memory plan, an error appears: "europe download aborted" and then: "error reading canalization file". I couldn't find a fix for that on web so I am asking you guys for help. Any advice will be highly appreaciated.

We downloaded all the files from www.roverinstruments.com and used rover SMART software (v. 5.57).
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,288
Reaction score
1,612
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I bought one on ebay for temporary use a couple of years back when my main meter was in for repair, found the battery wouldn't hold a charge, so ordered a new one, by that time I'd borrowed another meter and so took three or four weeks to fit batteries and test meter properly.

Had exactly the same issues as you and spoke to a repair company who specialise in Rover meters, it required a new flash chip which would have cost beyond what the meter could be worth when functioning, so resold it for spares on ebay, couldn't get my money back from seller, as too much time had lapsed, he had apparently bought several as a job lot and had just switched them on to see if they fired up.
 

Mikolaj98

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
1.5m dish
My Location
Scotland
Thanks for your reply. We bought the meter for £200, a new one costs about £2000 (from what I was told). How much are those flash chips and where could I buy a new one?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,038
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Common STC problems. Certainly not worth the repair IMO.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,288
Reaction score
1,612
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Thanks for your reply. We bought the meter for £200, a new one costs about £2000 (from what I was told). How much are those flash chips and where could I buy a new one?

The new model may cost near to £2,000, but I'm sure your's is an older model and the top price for a good condition working unit is around £350-£400, you can't DIY the chip installation, has to be done by Rover and will be well over £200 from memory. If the meter was only bought 2 weeks ago and it is faulty, open an ebay case.
 

Mikolaj98

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
1.5m dish
My Location
Scotland
Common STC problems. Certainly not worth the repair IMO.

you can't DIY the chip installation, has to be done by Rover and will be well over £200 from memory.


£200 does not seem to be much considering the price of a new meter. If replacing a flash chip would solve our problem then we would save about £1500-1600 which sounds great.

Had exactly the same issues as you and spoke to a repair company who specialise in Rover meters

Any chance you could give us a website/name of that repair company?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,288
Reaction score
1,612
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Code:
http://roversat.co.uk/repair-service/

But don't think they do that repair, only Rover can and it may be a lot more than £200, can't remember the price too long ago.
 
Last edited:

Mikolaj98

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Points
3
My Satellite Setup
1.5m dish
My Location
Scotland
Thanks very much for your help rolfw, we will now be contacting the repair company any time soon and see what they tell us. If we manage to get the meter to work I will write it here in case someone might be interested in the solution.
Thanks again!
 

Jon Rayner

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
2
Points
1
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
standard sky hd setup. 1.2 metre dish aligned to 13 and 19 deg
My Location
Dorset
I know it is an old thread but thought I would reply for anyone using the search function.
For anyone with this particular fault, It is not necessarily a flash chip fault all though it certainly could be, it could also be a data transmission fault between ics, so not always fatal.
Also worth trying to update a few times before giving up with best results in my experience updating the fw first.
even holding the on sw in for 10 seconds to reset before trying again is worth a go.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,662
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
It's not that old by our standards!

Anyway, welcome to he Forum and thanks for the info :)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,038
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Thanks for the info and yes .. welcome.
 
Top