Minimum dish size for Intelsat 10-02

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Hi Guys,

Trying to find the minimum dish size for Intelsat 10-02 at 0.8W in the South West of England (nr Bath)

The planned dish site doesn't have any obsticals and as it is going fairly high.

Many thanks,
Alex.
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,936
Reaction score
11,376
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Ok which channels are must have? For instance forget NBC TV on 3977 - thats not transmitted anywhere near Europe
 

digi247

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
429
Points
63
Location
NW
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
UK
Which ones the C-Band ones or the Digi TV package
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Ok, it's solely for live streams for a theatre, usually live streams from the Royal Opera House, once the system is installed the venue will have a contract with the stream operator (national theatre live) and will get emailed out the stream frequency before each showing. We have sucessfully installed this setup in a few venues, always with a 1.1m dish as that is what the operator for the streams specified originally (although this was a general, non site, non location specific spec to cover any site in the UK), we have never had a problem using the 1.1m size dish, however on the latest venue planning consent is an issue for the dish. We are trying to find a way of making the dish as descete as possible and it seems one way to solve it may be with a transparent dish, the biggest I can find is 85cm so I need to somehow find out if this will be big enough.

I know if I can pick up Speranta TV on 12563 V 27500 I can normally get the stream fine, this is the frequency I use to align the dish, Is this the spot 3 beam? - how do you find out what is on each beam?

Many thanks for the ongoing help.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,011
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Check here - www.intelsat.com/flash/coverage-maps/sat_foot.html?sat=IS-10-02%20at%20359%BA%20E&display=map&spot=1

Looking like feeds are on spot 1. Spots 1 and 3 will work with an 80cm dish without any issues. Try a Penta 85cm dish. It's bigger than it looks and performs very well. I don't have any problems with it near Bristol.
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Thanks Captain Jack,

The idea would be to use a transparent polly carb dish in order to help get us nearer to planning being approved (listed building) will an 85cm polly dish have enough gain for Spot 1/3 beam do you think?

Many thanks.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,826
Reaction score
8,011
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
It *should be*. I am not sure what the gain is like on those transparent dishes as I've never tried one. But the signal is strong, so shouldn't be an issue.

One thing you should be aware of. Despite the fact that many channels broadcast from the same beam, the signal strength can vary. This is especially true for feeds, which can, and sometimes do, broadcast at lower power. That said, UK is in the middle of that footprint so I don't expect there to be any issues.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,936
Reaction score
11,376
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Sparkydude said:
Ok, it's solely for live streams for a theatre, usually live streams from the Royal Opera House, once the system is installed the venue will have a contract with the stream operator (national theatre live) and will get emailed out the stream frequency before each showing. We have sucessfully installed this setup in a few venues, always with a 1.1m dish as that is what the operator for the streams specified originally (although this was a general, non site, non location specific spec to cover any site in the UK), we have never had a problem using the 1.1m size dish, however on the latest venue planning consent is an issue for the dish.
Could you install a 1.1 m but spray paint it the same colour as the brickwork behind it?
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Thank you so much CJ.

It's a bit of a tricky situation as I need to guarantee to them that the stream will be realiable...I won't get thanked if on a rainy night they have lots of breakups half way through a performance...however at the same time we need to make the council planners happy....I feel more comfy with a 1.1m dish as I know that works on two sites fine...hrmm. It's not like I can even do a test to see if the stream is strong enough as it's only there when a performance is on and thats 1 a month at the very most.
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Analoguesat.

It's a G2 listed building with a stone wall. Might be tricky to get it to blend in enough...might be an option to the planners though. It seemes to be the size of the dish that they really don't like.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,936
Reaction score
11,376
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Sparkydude said:
Analoguesat.

It's a G2 listed building with a stone wall. Might be tricky to get it to blend in enough...might be an option to the planners though. It seemes to be the size of the dish that they really don't like.
Stick it up on the roof hidden behind a chimney or facade?
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Sparkydude said:
if on a rainy night they have lots of breakups half way through a performance.
I've seen plenty of feeds (Rugby mostly but also some ENG) on 1W originate from within the UK for a UK audience where this has been an issue on my 1m dish, especially if it's S2. I'd be looking to install a 1.2m min for a commercial venture like this.
 

Sparkydude

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
60cm dish on 19.2, Original pole mount channel master sky mini dish (before the stupid arm bracket) on 28.2 Humax F1-Vaci, Sky-HD Thomson box (very first made)
My Location
Wiltshire
Many thanks for the reply,

Aceb, we seem to have been ok so far with a 1.1m dish, trouble is with anything above this you start getting into much larger brackets and poles (76mm) which for some of the sites getting them to approve even a 1.1m dish on a standard T & K is dificult.

I think I would be really nervus with a 85cm on an untested feed. It is a very difficult building with no way of hiding it up on the roof as there is nothing to fix too.
 
Top