Monobloc LNB help please

eatjunk

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
50 cm solid round dish and freesat
My Location
Brighton, UK
Hi everybody, hopefully a quick question.

I had heard that monobloc LNB's were designed for 80cm dishes. Does this mean that they cannot be fitted to other dish sizes (smaller or bigger), and if not, why not?

I understand if the dish is smaller you may not receive enough signal, but if we assumed that signal strength is not an issue. Also, I am not talking about Sky dishes which I know use a different LNB holder.

Please can somebody advise here. Thank you.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,609
Reaction score
6,086
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I suppose, there are different monoblocs available on the market. Dou you already have one on hands? If not, than you better avoid getting one. For several reasons it is better to use 2 separate LNBs instead of monobloc IMHO.
 

Robinson74

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
133
Reaction score
14
Points
18
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
Motorised dish 45E - 30W, Clarke-Tech ET9000
My Location
Poland
eatjunk, the reason is quite simple. You have a fixed distance between the 2 parts of a monobloc LNB so they only fit certain dish sizes and certain satellite configurations. If you have 2 separate LNB's you can select the distance yourself, adjusting it for dish size and your satellite configuration.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Adjustable Monoblocks are now available for spacings up to 12 deg (Possibly more - not bang up to date with the very latest offerings)
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Indeed, as the dish gets bigger the spacing of the LNBs will get wider for the same two satellites. So a fixed monoblock for an 80cm dish has the two feedhorns spaced for an 80cm dish. If you then put it on a 60cm dish you are going to have to compromise one or a bit of both satellites as you can't get both feedhorns in the centres of the two incoming signal paths. The signals from the two satellites may be high enough to overcome the loss in signal by the misalignment of the feedhorns but it's not ideal as an adjustable monoblock or two separate LNBs allowing you to fine tune each LNB individually.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
For 6 degree spacing on a 60cm dish, you can use a 4.5 degree monobloc, will be pretty much perfect. I tend to use the little Triax TD54 or 64 with two black Ultra LNBs on their little 2 LNB flexiblock.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0172.JPG
    IMG_0172.JPG
    259.6 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_0169.JPG
    IMG_0169.JPG
    138.7 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_0168.JPG
    IMG_0168.JPG
    246.7 KB · Views: 36
Top