More bandwidth going byebye...

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,029
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Hopefully that'll get rid of the useless channels though, but we shall see...:confused
Yes, nice the thought, unlikely the outcome.

Aren't some of the (useful) HD channels using some of that spectrum at the moment? Would be sad to see free HD access diminishing.
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Without using the TV downstairs, I'm not even seeing the HD channels, so no loss to me unless they switch everything over to T2, meaning my TV's built-in T tuner would be useless, meaning I'd lose recording functions too, requiring me to buy another STB to add to the pile, and have to invest in an HDMI switch as I only have 2 HDMI ports on my TV (PC and PS3 occupying both at the moment), etc....
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,029
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
I ran out of HDMI inputs on my UK TV some time ago. Three is just not enough and I bought a 3-1 auto switch to supplement the inputs. Recently I found that that was not enough and I bought a 5-1 auto switch.

They're quite cheap so go for it.
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
680
Points
113
Age
17
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall
The cheap HDMI switches are good. I have a couple of generic ones that have a button for when they don't switch automatically but they work fine.

Consider an August DVB-T210 if you need a usb T2 tuner.

As for the 700MHz band sell off what about all the relays? And interference from the continent? With fewer channels on the continent and fewer here that must be harder to coordinate.

Sweden and Finland have started reusing Band III for some DTT services because there wasn't enough space, what are they going to do after the sell off?
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,228
Reaction score
12,290
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
It looks like FreeView will end up with just 3 SD Multiplexes throughout the UK very soon :(
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,747
Reaction score
8,637
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I might ask for a refund on the wideband aerial I paid for last year.
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Maybe freesat will take off as an alternative?

Can't remember last time I watched any freeview channels to be honest.

Using 700mhz for 4g does that mean better mobile reception indoors?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Can't see them losing the HD channels, they may just lower the bitrate of the SD channels and squeeze them into less multiplexes.

It will certainly cause problems in multiple transmitter areas though, unless TV tuning software becomes more controllable/selective. I've had problems down here where a local Freeview light transmitter is badly receivable by an aerial pointing at the main Hannington transmitter, so even when the TV can choose which region, the TV still picks one of the local multiplexes, which of course breaks up.

Can't be filtered out, as it is too close to the main frequencies.
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
642
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
This announcement was inevitable, not because of Ofcom's own desires to sell off more of the UHF broadcast band for mobile telephony (though they hardly appear gutted about it), but because of international activities. Quite a few countries in Africa & the Middle East appear keen to have this "700MHz" band available, while roll outs also appear in other parts of the world either already in place (USA) or planned to (Australia & New Zealand). It's only very much in Europe where there has at least been notable resistance to losing TV transmissions on these frequencies. There's a World Radio Conference in Geneva in about a year's time that'll likely put in place planned frequencies for 700MHz band clearance in Europe and beyond.

There's quite a few potential problems in the UK with a "DSO2". One being that in DSO1, frequency allocations were painstakingly done so that at least for the PSB multiplexes almost all viewers didn't have to change their aerials. The problem with DSO2 though is that the UHF broadcast band is being reduced to channels 21-48, this means that parts of the country where transmissions from main sites are historically received with UHF Group C/D aerials may need replacements. Most new aerial installations in recent years should have been with "wideband" aerials, but many that were installed back in the mid-90's and before that are still going strong might end up becoming redundant. The biggest upheaval will probably be in North West England (Winter Hill) but a few other places like Norfolk and South Wales will be affected too.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,922
Reaction score
11,361
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Selkirk transmitter is affected - we uses channels 50-60 :(
 

2cvbloke

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,808
Points
113
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Hmm, just looked up Pontop Pike's bands, yep, C/D... :rolleyes:

Means I'll have to re-build my homemade dipole, cos it's trimmed for about 700MHz...:-doh
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,029
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Didn't think AS personally used ANY terrestrial TV frequencies.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
18,029
Reaction score
4,049
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Ah, true. But that's unlikely to be affected by any shenanigans going on with frequency changes.
 
Top