multiswitch for long cable run

n.l.b.2000

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
60 cm. invacom 3db
My Location
Berlin Germany
Is there a particular type of multiswitch that is better for long cable runs ie gives a better output( for 2 outputs 60m and 90m from invacom quatrro) have a technisat multiswitch at the momment which gives a significant drop in signal strength although signal quality stays the same.
N.B.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I'm sure this has been covered b4 here :D
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
_http://www.spaun.de/?modul=home

Some of these switches are capable of high outputs as your losses on the 90m run will be approx 25dB depending on which cable type you use (rounded up to 25dB for simplicity).

You will need around 85dBuV - 90dBuV from the ports of the switch in order to give you 60dBuV - 65dBuV at the receiver.

Hope this helps :D
 

n.l.b.2000

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
60 cm. invacom 3db
My Location
Berlin Germany
Thanks Satelliteman,
Having acheived reception of FTA here I was just trying to optimize and improve. Getting advice from German Sat shops is very difficult and have already had two cases of trying to be sold an iferior item ( luckily I had a 24hr return agreement). So your help is much appreciated
N.B
 
Top