Naive Question

Graham_Wright

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Astra 28 Applemac
My Location
South West France
Naive question I wish to watch channels available on Astra 28 and eventually realised that if I point the dish at the sun at 1008 GMT that gives me the required angle. I cannot at the moment alter the elevation which was correct for Hotbird so now should be incorrect for Astra. I also have an overgrown tree in the line of sight.

My question is;- How can I confirm I am receiving Astra 28? My learned neightbour doubts what I see, not recognising the programmes I am receiving.

As an engineer, I assumed that each satellite would transmit its identity (maybe within the engineering data packets). I accept that satellites share frequencies relying on separation for distinguishing. But I am sure that very much more data is up and down-loaded for condition and position monitoring for instance.

My learned neighbour tells me that is not the case.

Which one of us is right?

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The easiest way to confirm is to work out what channels you are watchingh!

Give us half a dozen channels and we can soon tell you what you have found.

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
What size dish are you using?
Check if you can get some of the FTA channels from Astra 2, 28.2E, and Eurobird 1:
Code:
http://www.lyngsat.com/28east.html

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Well name some of the Channels you are receiving and we can tell you immediately which Satellite you are aligned to.

Graham_Wright

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Astra 28 Applemac
My Location
South West France
Thanks Guys,

I'm back in the UK now so can't list the stations.