Newbie Here Need another HD receiver

Chris D

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Openbox V8S
My Location
London, UK
I used to be a Sky subscriber and had a deal for like 2 years, used to pay half of the whole package, I found that reasonable. That expired now and I've basically ditched Sky.

I've bought an Openbox V8S to get the FTA channels.

I am not happy with the box, the GUI (EPG UI) is outdated, the remote control is basic and feels cheap, etc.

Can you please advice me what HD receivers should I be looking at?

What's important to me is:

1. ability to pause/play, I don't know how is this called (not with USB sticks or other external storage devices)
2. graphical interface
3. better remote
4. ability to watch a channel and record another, I think the tuner needs to be 'twin'?

So I think what I need is a Twin Tunner HD Satellite Receiver?

Can anyone please recommend me a few boxes with a nice and quick EPG interface? Eventually skinnable?

I had a quick look and I am actively researching as we speak, and I found the VU+ Solo2 Twin Tuner HD to be an amazing box, any opinions?

A

archive10

If you just want the FTA channels on 28.2E (i.e. the Freesat channels), you can enjoy the Freesat EPG + DVR (which the pause/play/record thing is called) with one of the official Freesat-endorsed boxes.
Of them, the Humaxes are good. The others are fairly good to good.
I find none of them are at the UI speed I want, but there is little to do about this today. At least the ones there are seems reasonable in the UI.

Edit: You want one of the twin-tuner ones. And with the Humax, it will sometimes even record two programms and still let you watch another, depending on what programmes you're watching (if they're on the same multiplex).

Chris D

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Openbox V8S
My Location
London, UK
Thanks for your quick reply.