New dish to play with

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, ive just picked up another dish, I think I am going to put it a little higher up the garden at ground level and use it mainly for the east satellites and connect this one up to my wifes tv. the stump will have to come down for a few west sats,

With the stump down I think I will be able to get 57e to 22w, more posts/pics to follow when I start work on her:).

Capture.PNG DSCN5572.JPG DSCN5577.JPG
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Is that a mono block lnb on it for Astra and hotbird ?
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
looks like a 3 degree mono-block
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
What do you need another dish for? You already seemed to be duplicating your coverage with your 1m and 1.2m dishes...?
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
What do you need another dish for? You already seemed to be duplicating your coverage with your 1m and 1.2m dishes...?
For feeds CJ, I will probably also have a play with c band on this one or elevation ? not sure yet, dish was for next to nothing, so not much to lose.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Is it 1m? You'll get some sort of C-band on this..
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
looks like a 1 meter orbital
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Thank you lads, It measures 42/38 inch it does look a different shape to my other dish, I will have to measure it in the morning.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, I popped out this morning and picked up a scaffold pole up to mount the new dish on, If the rain slows down I will go out and get it concreted in.
DSCN5581.JPG
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, managed to get a break in the weather and I've got the pole in place,

What diseqc motors are peeps using now days please, I love the stab I have on my other dish but don't want to spend that much,
DSCN5584.JPG
 

bim

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
224
Reaction score
202
Points
43
Age
64
Location
lat 45.3301 lon 14.1822
My Satellite Setup
humax foxsat Thomson Tsr200 Pace 3100 Black pro quad dvbs2 80 and 100cm dishes
My Location
croatia Lat 45.3301 Lon 14.1822
Hi, I popped out this morning and picked up a scaffold pole up to mount the new dish on, If the rain slows down I will go out and get it concreted in.
View attachment 61796
Finally got round to doing mine - only had it for 2 months!! The pole is quite heavy duty 5mm wall. I welded the bottom legs on; the centre pole goes down in the ground approx 90cms with 3/4 ton concrete all barrowed up hill. It only leaves me now to carry on with the under ground trunking.
 

Attachments

  • sat (3)_resize.JPG
    sat (3)_resize.JPG
    306.3 KB · Views: 58
  • sat_resize.JPG
    sat_resize.JPG
    376.7 KB · Views: 56

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Finally got round to doing mine - only had it for 2 months!! The pole is quite heavy duty 5mm wall. I welded the bottom legs on; the centre pole goes down in the ground approx 90cms with 3/4 ton concrete all barrowed up hill. It only leaves me now to carry on with the under ground trunking.
Looking good bim :), I don't think that will be going anywhere, keep at it pal and keep us posted :).
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
What diseqc motors are peeps using now days please, I love the stab I have on my other dish but don't want to spend that much,


Martin, the TM2600 seems to be the weapon of choice.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Martin, the TM2600 seems to be the weapon of choice.
Thank you tivu, I will see if my local sat shop stocks them tomorrow, ive got to call for some cable and maybe a lnb.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Yeah, TM2600 or Dark Motor... for that wider arc coverage (I couldn't get beyond 68.5E with the TM2100).
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Yeah, TM2600 or Dark Motor... for that wider arc coverage (I couldn't get beyond 68.5E with the TM2100).
Thank you CJ, I can't hit all of the arc where the dish will be placed, so TM 2600/2100 it is :).
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Silly question ?, is it possible to full focus a motorised dish to any satellite please and still hit the arc ?.
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,638
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
If using USALS, then yes, as you have the motor set to zero, when attaching the dish, then move the dish, using your receiver, to the chosen satellite, once you have imputted the correct latitude, and longitude, then the receiver can work out the correct positioning.
If using Diseqc 1.2 then stick to aligning on your nearest true south satellite.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
If using USALS, then yes, as you have the motor set to zero, when attaching the dish, then move the dish, using your receiver, to the chosen satellite, once you have imputted the correct latitude, and longitude, then the receiver can work out the correct positioning.
If using Diseqc 1.2 then stick to aligning on your nearest true south satellite.

Thanks mick, I am not very good at explaining things,

I presume ????,

If I had two identical dishes and setups and one was motorised and the other not and doing a test on lets say a 57e T/P, fixed dish dish pointing directly at 57e, and the motorised setup at 1west then swung over the arc to 57e the fixed dish would get a better signal ??.

If the above is correct is it possible to main focus a motorised dish to any sat and maintain the arc, hope this is more clear (chasing week signals is what I am getting at mike from a motorised setup) :)
 
Last edited:
Top