Nilesat 101 at Kigali

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
I am situated at Kigali-Rwanda-Central africa- at 30East. I wanted to whether it is possible to capture Nilesat 101 at Kigali. If then wat should be the Dish size of the antenna
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Here's the footprint _http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/nile101.html you are quite a way outside it, but it would be possible with a big enough dish.
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
I have seen thathe page but no idea what should be the minimum size of the dish especially since it is a ku band. please send replies to email address removed
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,931
Reaction score
9,755
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Please do not ask for stuff to be sent to an email address - non personal info should be available to all our members - you never know there may be someone else in Kigali looking for the same info!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,931
Reaction score
9,755
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
bijucvarghese said:
I have seen thathe page but no idea what should be the minimum size of the dish especially since it is a ku band. please send replies to email address removed

You are so far out of the footprint its impossible to answer without first hand experience. Sadly we dont have many members in your area, so guesswork is the best you will get.

So extrapolating the footpint mapyou are probably looking at a minimum of 3m diameter, possibly much bigger :eek:
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Some months ago i read about 7W reception in Addis Abeba Ethiopia. 3m dishes are needed there so expect at least this size not even much bigger. Maybe you cannot receive 7W at all. Without a test nobody can tell you for sure.

You can get in contact with some people in Africa using bigger dishes here: _http://www.rdi-board.com/showthread.php?t=36090

26E C-Band reception is possible down to South Africa. I know it's a poor alternative but you are far outside the 7W/26E Ku footprints.
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
thank you for your support. I was trying to capture Nilesat in order to watch the channels in ADD package, since i am interested in some indian channels in there. Does anybody can suggest an alternative
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Oh i see. I cannot recommend which indian channels can substitute those of the ADD package but there are indian channels that you should be able to get over 68.5E: http://www.lyngsat.com/intel10.html. 76.5E carries some Bangla channels and you should get it since i know somebody in Gabon gets it. 78.5E has been received in Lubumbashi some years ago on 3.70m. It's hard to say if 83E/93.5E/105.5E can be gotten as well with big dishes.

The only easily to get satellite in Rwanda carrying indian content i found is 7E with http://www.lyngsat.com/packages/gtvew3a.html but i have no idea how to get this package and how expensive it is. You should get strong signal on a 1m dish if the footprint shows the real conditions.
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
thank you so much. Those are not channels that i am looking for. Channels like asianet and Kairali which is found in ADD package as well as in Tatasky in insat4A.Seconldy i see that these channels are available in south africa by insat12, and i donot know how, who are all the providers.
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Ok, let's see:

Asianet transmits for SA at 72E: http://www.lyngsat.com/intel4.html
and for the rest of the world here: http://www.lyngsat-address.com/ab/Asianet.html

Kairali is not officially available in Africa: http://www.lyngsat-address.com/gk/Kairali-Ch.html

Here's a list of all indian channels Lyngsat has listed: http://www.lyngsat-address.com/tv/India.html

Well, since i don't believe any footprints any more after such all extreme out of footprint cases, if you have the chance to test a really big dish, say 3-5m i would do it. I mean testing before buying because if you don't get anything all the money would be out of the window as we use to say here in Europe. But as there are people in the rdi board, some of them not too far from you (Kenya, Somalia and Tanzania) i would give a try and ask there.
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
thank you once again. What is that atlantic 4 -7.2 west with middleast beam just near by rwanda, and also i see one nilesat on that. Can i try to get some channels on that. thank you
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,931
Reaction score
9,755
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The Atlantic Bird 4 steerable beam:

_http://www.eutelsat.com/satellites/7wab4_popd.html#

is a possibility for you. However theres not much on it....

The outer 40dBW line means about a 120cm dish is needed in the outer fringe area..
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
i wanted to know wat is there on that channl on that nilesat
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
is that the same that of nilesat 101 or is tat different
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
At 7W there are 3 Satellites: Nilesat 101, 102 and AB4
AB4 has just 1 frequency (10758V) on the Middle East Beam as you can see here: http://www.lyngsat.com/ab4.html but the channels on it aren't interesting as far as i know. No indian content so far there.
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
i tried and got these channels on that frequency, but there is no chance for other ones of nilesat. I tried on with that on dish 3.5 meters.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,931
Reaction score
9,755
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
bijucvarghese said:
i tried and got these channels on that frequency, but there is no chance for other ones of nilesat. I tried on with that on dish 3.5 meters.

If you cant get the Nilesats on a 3.5m dish you may as well give up - theres not many dishes bigger available to the hobby market - 4.2m is about the biggest available.....
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
bijucvarghese said:
i tried and got these channels on that frequency, but there is no chance for other ones of nilesat. I tried on with that on dish 3.5 meters.

Was it a solid dish or mesh ? If latter then look for a solid one. Although a bit away from you, i just found this here:

7.0W (Middle-East)
2008-05-19 21:29:38 madi22 (-,0cm) ? bangui-center africa Correct reception from tps: 10719V , 10834V, 10796V, 10911V, 10873V, 12341V;incorrect from 10853H, 10892H,10930H, with 310cm in bangui i need help

source: http://en.kingofsat.net/beams.php
 

bijucvarghese

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
panamsat and xp
My Location
Rwanda
deepbluesky said:
Was it a solid dish or mesh ? If latter then look for a solid one. Although a bit away from you, i just found this here:

7.0W (Middle-East)
2008-05-19 21:29:38 madi22 (-,0cm) ? bangui-center africa Correct reception from tps: 10719V , 10834V, 10796V, 10911V, 10873V, 12341V;incorrect from 10853H, 10892H,10930H, with 310cm in bangui i need help

source: http://en.kingofsat.net/beams.php
this is nothing to do with the nilesat and are these from atlantic bird 4. by the way i used a hard one of 3.5m not a mesh
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
You're right, this is AB4, but i thought it would be of interest. So the chances are very low if it was a solid 3.5m.
 
Top