Now that what I call a big dish!

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,311
Reaction score
9,942
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Its been mentioned before, but its worth mentioning again.

This is Klaus Schumacher's 8m dish. He lives in Brazil and can get analogue channels off 19E. Amazingly he can also get some digital stuff as well.

The dish is driven by an old Echostar.

[tube]Q0JFP7NFx3s[/tube]

[tube]MCBxYDBsVPw[/tube]
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Nice, just goes to show what people will do for TV!!! :D
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
Fair play to the guy!:-worship Thats some dish, and to think home made!:cool:
 

compufunk

Regular Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1
Points
36
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
My Location
NW, Ireland
It would have been easier to move to Europe:D

Seriously, thats some achievement, He's even picking up digital from 26E, I hope someone can help him get digital from 19.2 east before they analogue goes off for good.:-worship
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,650
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Takes a good positioner to move that beast. I used the Echostar 8700 for many years, it used to auto peak on a satellite. Probably comes in handy on that one too, although there must be plenty of overrun with that dish using that facility :-rofl2

Llew
 

Salty25

Retired Mod
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
2,436
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ Pace v3, and before that analouge 80cm dish with Prima by Pace box pointed at 19.2e (not very imaginative then!)
My Location
Colchester, Essex
I think everyone will agree that if he ever joined up here, he would be made an honorary member at once!
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Salty25 said:
I think everyone will agree that if he ever joined up here, he would be made an honorary member at once!

I'll second that, well, speaking as a regular member... :D
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,692
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
It certainly is quite remarkable and I suppose the sense of achievement must be great especially with him achieving all this with a home made dish. It is a shame that the digital signals are proving a problem for him.
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
52
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
I love the fact that he used the mold afterward as a swimming pool:-rofl2
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,692
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
trigger said:
I love the fact that he used the mold afterward as a swimming pool:-rofl2

Well I think that solution is indicative of the type of person he is :)
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
what i wonder is how he decided it would be a 8metre dish he would need to receive the channels in brazil, why not 9 or 10 metre ?

i wonder if he gets any of the other satellites over europe
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,311
Reaction score
9,942
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
From what I understood he gets some of the Hotbird stuff.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,692
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
wod said:
i wonder if he gets any of the other satellites over europe

Yes, in the clip he says he watches HD on 26East
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
Wonder if he gets Astra 2D? On his not so mini dish:-rofl2
 

Salty25

Retired Mod
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
2,436
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Sky+ Pace v3, and before that analouge 80cm dish with Prima by Pace box pointed at 19.2e (not very imaginative then!)
My Location
Colchester, Essex
wod said:
what i wonder is how he decided it would be a 8metre dish he would need to receive the channels in brazil, why not 9 or 10 metre ?

i wonder if he gets any of the other satellites over europe

You do have to wonder why, if he could build an 8 metre dish, why he didn't just push the boat out and go for a dish as big as possible.

I love the fact he has a team of people all working on it just so he can watch a bit of telly :-rofl2

I should imagine that he might be rather lucrative as an endorsement of equipment - "Test by Klaus - Brazil to Europe, no worries :-thumb1!"
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
You do have to wonder why, if he could build an 8 metre dish, why he didn't just push the boat out and go for a dish as big as possible.

Probably take too long to fill the pool!:)
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
also it was the size of the polar mount that amazed me and the tower. think he said the dish was 800metre above sea level too which will help with the signal

wonder if he gets mbc on 26east as we all know the footprint map is made up
 
Top