Panasonic full hd tv, picture delay.

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,117
Reaction score
7,039
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I've acquired a TX-L42E5B, my first full HD set. Certainly not new and with a small amount of staining on the lower part of the screen, but Im hoping it's not too noticeable or will go away the more I use it :-wow

Having reset everything and started correcting the picture and sound to my own preferences, I find the audio is ahead of the video by a miniscule amount, but there appears to be nothing in the menus to correct this.

Is there a hidden menu in Panasonics that allows tweaking of this nature ?

Thanks in advance
 

statalite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
578
Reaction score
241
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
Nova-HD-S2, Dr HD D15, Free sat V7S, Free sat v8 finder V-71HD
Zone 1 @ 28.2°E with cable tied LNB @ 19.2°E
Zone 2 @ 28.2°E
Channel Master 1.0m (to be setup)
Channel Master 1.2m (to be setup)
SMR 1224
My Location
UK Midlands
Assuming your not using an external sound system etc or found some kind of audio delay option in the menus.

There should be an "engineer's menu" for the factory but they vary greatly between models and ease of use, as you can imagine there can be a lot of settings without an obvious meaning. If someone on the net has looked into this for your model before you might have some guidance there.
I would Google Panasonic and engineers menu or installer menu etc as you need to find the remote control combination to access this as they don't want Joe public on it for obvious reasons. From there have a play but proceed with caution.
 

TonyilCapo

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2014
Messages
115
Reaction score
77
Points
28
Age
33
Location
над холмами и далеко
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: PF (restored Famaval) 2.4m 28.2E, offset 60cm 30W, 90cm 13E+19E, spares 80cm+1.15m
Restoring a PFA 1.8m, manufacturer unknown to me (just needs some paint, new LNB arms + holder)
STBs: Vu+ Duo2 DVBS2 x4 1TB HDD, GI Avatar2 DVBS2 x2, Vu+Zero
My Location
Central Portugal
Aaahrr... I remember I had this some time ago... also in trashy stbs...

If your model actually have an 'service menu' you will be lucky if there's an option to adjust audio delay, but still, many models have it, you just need to try remote control combination (you find) for Panasonic tvs.

Back in the day I had this a lot, couldn't never fixed it.

btw, if you don't want google to 'tell' you tomorrow you should buy a new tv, because yours is outdated, use a search engine that doesn't track you.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,117
Reaction score
7,039
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Thanks

I'm doing some further channel checks (DTV only as the wife has Russian TV on) , but I think the audio varies between SD and HD channels, on the odd occasion the video is ahead but I will need to look at them long term.

It might be a tuner or board fault, though Ill have a better idea once I put a direct connection to the screen.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,146
Reaction score
7,412
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Some satellite receivers *cough*E2-based*cough* have per transponder audio timing adjustments - very handy.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,117
Reaction score
7,039
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I have seen delay software built into a lot of AV equipment in the past couple of years, the removal of anything analogue in the chain , standards conversion, streaming from varying sources, the additional picture processing, and ever more compression are all behind it.

Gone are the days of putting up with a few sparklies.
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Gone are the days of putting up with a few sparklies.

I miss analogue television, it was fun just tuning into a known frequency and waving a dish or aerial about 'til something appeared on the screen... :(
 
Top