Paphos Reception

rossy

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
151
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
Skybox f3 spiderbox died hd9000 technomate 1500ci+, skystar2,1.1m dish .3db bluline lnb,Sky,
Span 58W to 42e with trees bare! 42e gone and now 39e
My Location
southern england, Berkshire
Can anyone advise what birds are available in pafhos on 1.1m dish. Just looking around there dont seem to be many motorised systems either. Not interested in the 3m systems for sky but is a motorised system worth the effort?

Thanks
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
70.5E (some), 53E, 42E, 39E, 36E (some),33E, 26E, 16E, 13E, 10E, 9E, 7E, 5E (European Beam), 4W, 7W, 8W, 12.5W and 15W, should all produce some channels Ross, you can always use a slingbox for UK based channels if you have broadband. :)
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Allow me to add some:
80E (some)/75E/62E/30.5E (probably none anymore since its power reduction)/21.6E/19.2E (some of the strongest)/1W (some of IS 10-02)/43W (very low on your SW horizon)

From 4W only the Middle East Beams can be received. The European Beams require huge dishes.

Since this is an often used marketing trick i should mention that a 1.1m dish is not 100*110 but 110*120 for example. Always the smaller diameter gives the name not the bigger one.
 

Uk2cyp

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
TM 6900 Combo Motorised 80cm + dual lnb in UK
TM 1500 Motorised 80cm in Cyprus

Hotbird 13E
Astra 1M widebeam
Astra 1H
1W T2 Beam
7E,5E,10E,16E,26E,33E,42E
4W,7W,8W,12.5W,15W
All Ok with 80cm in cyprus
My Location
Kent UK and Cyprus
Hi Rossy

I,ve just motorised my 80cm in cyprus and i get all the above sats except 1W.Thor 5 is just about to start at 1W so the signal should improve.

And yes it is worth going motorised

Regards
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Thanks for your reply odellp. May i ask where in Cyprus you are located and what is your reception window ?
 

Uk2cyp

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
94
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
TM 6900 Combo Motorised 80cm + dual lnb in UK
TM 1500 Motorised 80cm in Cyprus

Hotbird 13E
Astra 1M widebeam
Astra 1H
1W T2 Beam
7E,5E,10E,16E,26E,33E,42E
4W,7W,8W,12.5W,15W
All Ok with 80cm in cyprus
My Location
Kent UK and Cyprus
Hi Deepbluesky

I am in eastern cyprus and i receive from 15W to 75E if thats what you mean by window
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Yes, that's what i have meant.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
how big a dish can you go to ?

as a 1.8m dish on a polar mount setup would be even better than a 1.1m as you would get some channels from 19e, etc
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
By the way, in Lemesos/Limassol is a DXer that gets full Sirius 4 on his 2.1m. The footprint is far too pessimistic.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
wod said:
how big a dish can you go to ?

as a 1.8m dish on a polar mount setup would be even better than a 1.1m as you would get some channels from 19e, etc

I believe that Ross probably intends to use his existing 1.1m Triax dish from the UK. :)
 

rossy

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
151
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
Skybox f3 spiderbox died hd9000 technomate 1500ci+, skystar2,1.1m dish .3db bluline lnb,Sky,
Span 58W to 42e with trees bare! 42e gone and now 39e
My Location
southern england, Berkshire
rolfw said:
I believe that Ross probably intends to use his existing 1.1m Triax dish from the UK. :)



Rolf............ you fancy a free vacation in cyprus? :)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
LOL, have meter will travel. :-rofl2
 
Top