Advice Needed Pi Hole block-list for LG TV

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
1,910
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Invacom SNF-031, TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El (being refurbished), 1.8m Precision PF with SMW Q-PLL LNBs or various C & X bits
My Location
Essex
Last edited:

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,762
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Wifi or hard wired to the router ?
 

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
1,910
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Invacom SNF-031, TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El (being refurbished), 1.8m Precision PF with SMW Q-PLL LNBs or various C & X bits
My Location
Essex

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,762
Reaction score
8,640
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Can be either on the VLAN as it's got its own SSID/AP, currently wired though
Just thinking if it was not wired it could sniff out other devices nearby (not necessarily yours)
 

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
1,910
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Invacom SNF-031, TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El (being refurbished), 1.8m Precision PF with SMW Q-PLL LNBs or various C & X bits
My Location
Essex
Just thinking if it was not wired it could sniff out other devices nearby (not necessarily yours)
Good point. I hadn't realised, until recently, that W10 has a very annoying device discovery feature. Most of the time I use Linux Mint for general stuff but recently I had to migrate from W7 to W10 for some things. When the LG was on the main wired network, it would occasional appear in the devices list on W10 even though the networking was not set up. That's why I moved it to a VLAN of its own in the first place. The WLAN (which can be disabled) on that VLAN has a different SSID to the other VLANs. The router allows each VLAN to use its own DNS server(s). Of course, the DNS approach can't catch every nasty thing that the LG tries to do. 1st world problems, as they say.
 

SkyWatcher

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
153
Reaction score
110
Points
43
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
Comag SL65, Azbox Premium HD+, Azbox Mini Me, Techno mate Tm3000 D, Golden V8
My Location
London
I've resisted allowing the LG G2 TV to connect to the 'net but gave in and let it loose. It's on its own VLAN on which I have a Pi-Hole. I can find some block-lists but not a UK specific one. Does anyone have one, please? If not, I'll use something based on this: GitHub - TheShawnMiranda/LG-TV-Ad-Block: Raw Adblock List for blocking ads on LG's WebOS. Tested on LG C2 in North America. (also this older list) I'll then add anything that looks dodgy in the pihole logs.

Don’t know if it’s of any use but I found this list:

# LG
ad.lgappstv.com
ibis.lgappstv.com
jp.rdx2.lgtvsdp.com
jp.lgtvsdp.com
jp.info.lgsmartad.com
lgad.cjpowercast.com.edgesuite.net
#ngfts.lge.com # blocks thumbnails from loading in the LG Content Store
smartclip.com
smartclip.net
smartshare.lgtvsdp.com
us.ad.lgsmartad.com
us.ibs.lgappstv.com
us.info.lgsmartad.com
#us.lgtvsdp.com # #117
us.rdx2.lgtvsdp.com
yumenetworks.com
aic-ngfts.lge.com
us.cdpbeacon.lgtvcommon.com
us.cdpsvc.lgtvcommon.com
us.homeprv.lgtvcommon.com
us.nudge.lgtvcommon.com
us.rdl.lgtvcommon.com
us.recommend.lgtvcommon.com
us.lgsmartad.com
us.service.lgtvcommon.com

from here https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Perflyst/PiHoleBlocklist/master/SmartTV.txt which is a 2023 updated list. I was looking for a Sony one for a family member.
 

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
1,910
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Invacom SNF-031, TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El (being refurbished), 1.8m Precision PF with SMW Q-PLL LNBs or various C & X bits
My Location
Essex
Thanks for the tips. The text file attached contains a mix of reference links and lists. Some domains are country or area specific. It's easy to work out what's what e.g. aic.*.* = Americas, eic.*.* = Europe, jp.* Japan etc. I changed a few to eic.* and gb.* for UK.

There are 3 TVs on the VLAN plus a PC occasionally as a terminal. It's completely separate from the main network. There's one LG C2 and 2 PC monitor/TVs (LG 27TQ615S) one of which is on a lot of the time as a monitor. I noticed that they all do something during the night occasionally when on standby. They all look up all other devices on the network, I'm not sure if they talk amongst themselves.

The PiHole has the default block list and I added the most obvious LG related domains. I had to disable some when they broke things. I've yet to try disabling unique URLs and others on the a2z domain which differ between TVs. That may break Amazon Prime TV, especially using a wild card.

I've not found much info on the worst offender, ueiwsp.com, which appears to be tracking. It's irritating to find the TVs trying to connect to meethue.com (Philips Hue), another top hit.

most_blocked-a.png Most blocked
domains.png Manually added domains

Screenshot from 2024-01-30 10-37-46.png Summary of past 24 hrs
 

Attachments

  • block.txt
    5 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Top