Please help a newbie...

nghozzi

Reaction score
Hi everybody,
Well, I made the jump and bought the Relook 400S. Although I'm used to play with sat receivers, this Linux stuff is a new thing 2 me. So, as you may guess, I have some 14953 questions for u although I already spent some sleepless nights trying to figure it out by myself and searching the forums :-) But I'll try to stick to the most important ones (4 the time being):

1/ Installation:
1-1: I have tried two different Disecq positioners (Superjack and Aston models) and both have different responses to the relook movement commands, but both do not work properly. Are there some major incompatibilities with some models, or is it me that is doing something wrong. BTW, I've been using one of the Aston one for 4 years now, So I have a good idea on how to configure it.
1-2: What is the logic in using the 2 tuners? I thought that I'll be using them as using two separate receivers. But, apparently, it's not that. So how can I choose which tuner to watch? Or isn't it possible? And how to watch one channel, and record another? Should they be each in a different tuner, or can they be on the same one?
1-3: What are the types of the embedded card readers in the Relook 400s? What encryption are they for? And are they exclusively for official subscription cards? Should we face the card connectors to the bottom or to the top? (stupid question I guess). Is there a priority for which one to use, the top first or the bottom one?

2/ Linux Receivers Basics:
2-1 Can you please define me as clearly as possible the following terms and their concept:
a. EMU
b. Plugin
c. Script
d. Skin
e. CVS
2-2 I know that these are used in the dreamboxes. So what is the compatibility? Are all of them compatible with each other? (all models of dreamboxes and of Relook alike?) Or are they compatible based on the model? (Relook 400, Mutant, DB 7000, DB 7020???) If so what are those compatible with the Relook 400s?