1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Cord For Pioneer AV Receiver

Discussion in 'Hi Fi section' started by HB13DISH16, May 19, 2017.

  1. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    I was given a not so old (2011) Pioneer AV receiver.
    The receiver came without the power cord as the previous owner couldn't find it.
    So I am trying to find a power cord that can work without any problems.
    The back of the AV unit looks like this

    VSX-421-K Back.jpg
    I tried a standard power cord that I use for a PC and it fits into the power socket.
    BUT, as you can see from the photo, there are only two pins, presumably the AV unit is not supposed to be grounded, although the unit packaging is metal.
    Will there be any safety issues using the standard PC power cord, with a three pins power plug (grounded)?
    Or should I look for an original Pioneer Power Cord cable instead?
    Not sure if the original cable has a three pins plug (into the AV unit) or only two or what does the mains plug looks like?
    My Sony AV Receiver has a two pins standard European mains plug and the cable is not detachable from the unit.
    Thanks for your comments.
     
  2. pgh13

    pgh13 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Satellite Setup:
    XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
    My Location:
    Midlands UK
    Don't see any problem; there's nothing for the third core to connect to so it'll be like it isn't there.
     
    Vipersan likes this.
  3. HB13DISH16

    HB13DISH16 Sleepy Hollow

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    Satellite dish 1.6m pointing to Hotbird 13E, Astra 1M 19.2E, Eurobird 9E.
    Satellite dish 1.2m pointing to Amos 4W, Nilesat 7W
    VU+ SOLO SE V2 receiver
    My Location:
    Israel
    The ground core is along the whole length of the cable, and although it is not connected physically to the AV unit, it might cause some humming problem, especially on high volume.
     
  4. davemurgtroyd

    davemurgtroyd Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Oxford
    How will it cause humming when it is not connected to the receiver - there will be no "ground loop"
     
    Vipersan likes this.
  5. pgh13

    pgh13 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Satellite Setup:
    XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
    My Location:
    Midlands UK
    If you want a 2 pin lead, look on Fleabay for X Box 2 pin power lead.
     
    HB13DISH16 likes this.
  6. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    557
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    The photo shows the "concentric double squares" printed on the back of the Rx which means that it is safety Double Insulated (technically called "Class II", and that's not the US "Class 2" which is entirely different!) and does not need a protective Earth/Ground in the mains leads.

    Don't think that a mains lead with an Earth conductor would cause hum issues -, but, OTOH, I have had to add small earthing conductors to my mainly Class II AV system - with, then, a connection to the supply mains Earth pin in a mains plug - to eliminate hum issues! Also, when you connect a lot of Class II together you can get quite high collective leakage currents on the chassis of any of the units, which can give you quite a "nip" if you touch it and "true Earth" (such as a c/h radiator) at the same time - the small Earth connections I add do however eliminate that! :D

    Therefore, in any country (could be Israel??) where there are a lot of un-Earthed mains outlets, I recommend the same small Earth connections solution, having connected the lot to "true Earth" (in a socket or a water/ c/h pipe).
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
    HB13DISH16 likes this.

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors