Primesat dishes?

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
I'm looking for a good Prime Focus dish to replace an old KTI mesh 3m one, it would be installed on my Egis motor (also known as Nitec in the past). I don't want mesh dishes anymore, neither fiberglass dishes like Raven, Prodelin or similar (they are fantastic dishes but too heavy). What about Primesat dishes? They are all 1-piece aluminium dishes. Anyone tested these dishes? 1.4m and 1.8m diameters are available, and a new 2.3m will be soon and this is what I would like to try. Any opinion and experience with these english dishes are very appreciated. Thank you.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Never had one but have heard they are good as they are made with the old precision antennas tooling/equipment.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,154
Reaction score
5,501
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I think that buying of such a big dishes always go together with great postal expenses. It is very easy (at least in my country) to buy relatively big, used, but in good shape dish. For example 1,8m aluminum PFA could coast 50-100 bucks, plus transportation. Perhaps, if you look in Italy for second hand BUDs, it would be possible to get good deals.
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,720
Reaction score
3,342
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Hi, thank you to all for reply. Yes I know that shipment is very expensive, but I'm looking to a new dish, not used. I just contacted mentioned italian dealer but he sell only fiberglass and only Laminas. They are not bad, but if I choose a fiberglass dish I would probably buy a 2.4m Raven or Prodelin. As I said, fantastic antennas but too massively heavy. Any other opinion is very appreciated. Thank you.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
If you do get a raven or prodelin dish there is a German company apexsat who do heavy duty motorised mounts
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Another possible choice would be a dish by Elite. They are english dishes, too. What about Elite dishes? Anyone tested them? I'm afraid they are massively weighted but I'm not sure. Obviously I'm always speaking about 2.4m or similar diameter. Thank you.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Give the IRTE company a call, they had a 3 metre receive only dish in their arsenal for years.

http://www.irte.it/B/_AntGen.htm
Thank you for your reply. Yes, I know IRTE very well! The factory is not too far from my home. I had a 2m dish many years ago, it was my first dish and it was a very good one, but I suspect that company is closed now. They surely dismissed their consumer division, not sure about broadcast one. Well, there is a phone number in web site, I will try a call.
Have you information about Elite dishes, too?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,207
Reaction score
7,305
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I can vouch for IRTE for reflector accuracy and weight. You do need a good delivery service as they are light enough to be damaged by the usual couriers.

Elite uses the Precision templates, and (presumably) the manufacturing techniques as well.

Plus they are in the UK, which is a minus, for you.

There was another manufacturer of (really good) antennas in your area a few years back, but I susspect they might have - also - gone to the wall. Again, another thread from many years ago exists on the forum, somewhere.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Finally I got Primesat 2.3m dish. Shipment was expensive, but I received very great support from a very serious dealer in the UK. The dish is very good, it's a 1-piece aluminium dish very well built. Just installed on Egis motor, it seems working well but I must solve a problem yet. I have my good old Chaparral Corotor as feedhorn, it's a combined C/Ku band feedhorn. Well, it works, but it seems it has a massive signal loose in Ku band. I must improve Ku band reception but I don't want to drop C band. So, the same dealer has in stock a combined C/Ku band universal LNB, anyone tested it? What about performances comparing to a common universal Ku LNB? Any advice and feedback is very appreciated, because the dish is very good and I would like to use it for the best possible performances. Thank you.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,113
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
If you want the best performance then you need to do away with the C/Ku band lnb - they are always a compromise.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Yes I know that C/Ku band combination is always a compromise, but it seems that my actual feedhorn is a bad compromise! What about this new solution? Looks like the same situation or could it be better? Thank you.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I've had 2 prime focus solids-1.8 and my present 2.4m. C band works very well but ku band is always lacking. I've also used both feeds as well with about the same results, Chapparal Corotor and c/ku lnbf. I now use a 1.2m offset dish for ku with much better results.
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
Thank you Costactc for your quick reply. So, looks like I have no chance to maintain both bands on the same dish if I want good performances in Ku band..... OK. I can not install offset dishes on my Egis motor, but I hope that dropping C band (what's a pity.....) probably I will get better results using a single Ku band LNB on my 2.3m prime focus, what do you think?
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,632
Reaction score
591
Points
113
Age
14
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall
KU band signals will be through the roof.

C band is tolerant of any crap old dish where the petals don't even line up properly. The old mesh dish would do fine.

You could always fix it on an interesting satellite if you don't want to put it on a motor.
 

Costactc

Regular Member
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
811
Reaction score
763
Points
93
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
3m channel master mesh-24" vonweise actuator-ps1 x2 lnbf(L)-pansat ap3500 positioner-x2 premium III-vu+solo2.
2.4m fortec solid-24" vonweise actuator-esx 241 lnbf(c)-vbox 7 positioner- dm800.
1.2m fortec-24"sj actuator-invacom snh-031--tm 5402 m3.
My Location
Canada
I also used an invacom flange lnb with 120 feed horn but ku results were still limited. It would be a shame to loose c band. I will always use offset dishes for ku in the future. I would suggest giving the present feed you have a shot and taking it from there.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Haven't inverto made a black pro c120 lnb you could try this.

Why the need for a large dish ? Are you outside of the uk as if your in the uk what's your 7west reception like and other fringe satellites ?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,240
Reaction score
7,473
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
He's in Italy, wod, 7W will be booming in.

What's happening to your old dish? Perhaps, keep that for C band the use the Primesat for Ku?

Did you use SSS dealer in UK?
 

7mdish

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
89
Reaction score
17
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
Nothing yet. Hoping soon.
My Location
Milan, Italy
He's in Italy, wod, 7W will be booming in.

What's happening to your old dish? Perhaps, keep that for C band the use the Primesat for Ku?

Did you use SSS dealer in UK?
Yes I purchased from SSS. Large dish is useful here in Italy to get good reception from many satellites, 28.2 East for example. And for C band, too. Maybe your idea is interesting: using my old mesh for C band and put a single Ku band (like Inverto Black PRO) on this new Primesat. I will see. I hoped that Corotor would make a better job but this is not the case. Well, I believe that a so high quality new dish deserves a very better Ku band reception.
 
Top