Problem with freesat/passion+ HD box

Nobbyg

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star dish/LNB connected to Passion+ HD receiver.
Compaq desktop vista PC connected to WiFi router directly to internet.
My Location
Stevenage, Hertfrodshire
[h=1]I have a Passion+ - HD Satellite Receiver. I installed and aligned the dish about 3-4 years ago using only a Sat-Finder and Compass from Maplin. I managed to align the dish (near enough) where I received all of the major channels and some others; but others I couldn’t pick up – keep getting: No Audio and Video; or No Signal.[/h] [h=1] [/h] [h=1]In the past 2 months or so, I have lost BBC News 24, True Movies 1 and 2, BBC HD, BBC1 HD, ITV1 HD, CH4 HD, True movies 1 &2, True Entertainment and a few others. I’ve check the dish for tightness and it’s ok – also re-aligned it several times bit still can’t regain these channel. I also noticed recently, that the lips and voices are not synchronizing; and last night, I lost all signal via the HDMI port, but can still get signal from the via scar socket.[/h]
Can anyone/anybody please help me!
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,532
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia

Nobbyg

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star dish/LNB connected to Passion+ HD receiver.
Compaq desktop vista PC connected to WiFi router directly to internet.
My Location
Stevenage, Hertfrodshire
I seem to have solved the problem with lips and voice synchronization - I needed to setup on TV: Settings>Sound>AV Sync
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,532
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Do you still have a problem with your HDMI port? HDMI out is always available, irrespective of other changes you may make in TV Settings.

Check or substitute your HDMI cable.
 

Nobbyg

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star dish/LNB connected to Passion+ HD receiver.
Compaq desktop vista PC connected to WiFi router directly to internet.
My Location
Stevenage, Hertfrodshire
I did a channel backup recovery and it has sorted the HDMI problem.

Also, I've downloaded update and updated passion+ box. But I've noticed the 'Category Channels' has gone; also it's not Astra 2A anymore, it's Astra 2D. What's gone wrong then?
 

Nobbyg

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star dish/LNB connected to Passion+ HD receiver.
Compaq desktop vista PC connected to WiFi router directly to internet.
My Location
Stevenage, Hertfrodshire
I've downloaded update and updated passion+ box. But I've noticed the 'Category Channels' has gone; also it's not Astra 2A anymore, it's Astra 2D. What's gone wrong then?
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,532
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Nobbyg said:
I did a channel backup recovery and it has sorted the HDMI problem.

Also, I've downloaded update and updated passion+ box. But I've noticed the 'Category Channels' has gone; also it's not Astra 2A anymore, it's Astra 2D. What's gone wrong then?

Favourites categories are visible using the White FAV button on mine with the latest channel list referred to in Post #2.

Astra 2D is a misnomer, that's what it was originally named as when the lists were compiled. Having it called that won't affect the channel lists (2D TP's now transferred to 1N.)
 

Nobbyg

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
74
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star dish/LNB connected to Passion+ HD receiver.
Compaq desktop vista PC connected to WiFi router directly to internet.
My Location
Stevenage, Hertfrodshire
Thanks for your help.
 

Timbobb

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
fortecstar passion hd
My Location
Northern Ireland
Many thanks for chanel list i must try now. Chanels were dropping off. Great to see a forum supporting these boxes. Fortec star site seems to be drying up and any updates are getting a bit old. These boxes have a great picture and I hope to use it for some time yet. Cheers.
 

Timbobb

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
fortecstar passion hd
My Location
Northern Ireland
oops maybe spoke too soon. I see bbc one hd is not working. On a search of the web i see they have changed to DVB-S2 modulation. Need to download the chanel edit utility and see if this can be changed easily. cheers.
 

Timbobb

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
61
My Satellite Setup
fortecstar passion hd
My Location
Northern Ireland
This should be attachment now if anybody is interested.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,532
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Timbobb said:
This should be attachment now if anybody is interested.

Thanks Timbobb, I did do an update myself and meant to upload it here.
 

Edm60

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
Passion+
My Location
Sheffield
This should be attachment now if anybody is interested.
Hi,

I can't see anything to download - can you re-post it or tell me where to look for the channel list?

Thanks

Ed
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,532
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Here's the latest .dnl file with channel changes as of end of September -
 

Attachments

  • EU_CHDB.zip
    20.7 KB · Views: 126

welshy2000

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Passion+ HD
My Location
Swansea
Top