Advice Needed Radio France Culture

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
I have free to air on the Astra Satellite and watch TV5Monde France this way in the UK. I also rarely listen to Radio France culture this way and when I tried to do this yesterday found both the stations named France Culture had not signal. I tried searching for stations but nothing new came up and it seems on googling that France culture is on Astra
Astra 1L which I do not have. Even then it may not be officially available in Reading where I live.

I think it may be that the station is hidden and I need to do some kind of detailed search. Can anyone help me?
 

rodscha

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,469
Reaction score
422
Points
83
Age
69
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
Hello from France,I am using sat reception for BBC stuff & am anxious we might lose it...following the new sat

For France culture(which i listen to most of the time on FM here) a simple solution maybe online,
just google it "france-culture"
you ll land on radio-france website
and it s there & you may also be able to podcast some stuff ,
unless they geographically filter stuff according to your IP address..;don t think they do it for radio
I m going to check the astra 1 reception
 

rodscha

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,469
Reaction score
422
Points
83
Age
69
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
I checked and france culture is on
astra 1,19°E
11568V22000
with an array of other French radio stations.
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
Hello from France,I am using sat reception for BBC stuff & am anxious we might lose it...following the new sat

For France culture(which i listen to most of the time on FM here) a simple solution maybe online,
just google it "france-culture"
you ll land on radio-france website
and it s there & you may also be able to podcast some stuff ,
unless they geographically filter stuff according to your IP address..;don t think they do it for radio
I m going to check the astra 1 reception

Thank you Rodsha That is helpful but I feel frustrated as the only two channels I use on free to air are TV5monde europe and France Culture. I have taken my eye of the ball and they moved France Culture when I was not looking.

I have Astra 1F, 1G, Astra 1E, 3A, and Astra 2A, B. Astra 1L is not on my satellite list.

For the TV5Monde Europe they are forever moving it and officially we are not allowed to receive it in the UK for some bizarre reason. I have always found it again but now I wonder if they have moved France Culture to a frequency which is not compatible with the Astra satellite frequencies I have now. I have little understanding of how this works and like to understand what has gone wrong.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
.......... France culture is on Astra
Astra 1L which I do not have. ?


Your receiver sees all transmissions from 19.2E: It cannot physically distinguish between the individual Satellites, so as long as you ensure you add (or already have) the Transponder details posted above then you shouldn't have a problem.

I suspect you've just scanned an out-of-date Astra 1 Transponder list, so you'll need to either do an Auto (or Blind) Scan, if the box has that function, or a Network Scan, or simply edit the stored Transponder list to add the correct one, then scan that.
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
I checked and france culture is on
astra 1,19°E
11568V22000
with an array of other French radio stations.
Thank you Rodscha. I might try some kind of manual retune. The satellite receiver boxes do not come with helpful instructions but I will have a fiddle with it and if that does not work I might call a man out. Thank you for finding the frequency that will help (I hope).
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Most of those Satellites you mention are long since gone from 19.2E!

That kind of proves your lists are out of date: So use any one of those lists and add the Transponder mentioned earlier.

Current Satellites and Transponders at 19.2E here

Perhaps you could just rename one of the old lists to "Astra 19E" and edit it to correlate with the up to date info I linked to?
 
Last edited:

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
Your receiver sees all transmissions from 19.2E: It cannot physically distinguish between the individual Satellites, so as long as you ensure you add (or already have) the Transponder details posted above then you shouldn't have a problem.

I suspect you've just scanned an out-of-date Astra 1 Transponder list, so you'll need to either do an Auto (or Blind) Scan, if the box has that function, or a Network Scan, or simply edit the stored Transponder list to add the correct one, then scan that.
This is helpful - My old satellite box had a detailed scan which used to bring up many more stations. This one (sky line) only has auto or manual. I have tried auto and it did not seem to make any difference it brought up the name of France Culture twice but with no signal.

You say that my receiver sees all transmissions from 19.2E so does that mean that it does not matter that Astra 1L is not listed? It might be that I am mistaken in thinking that France culture is on Astra 1L for my area.
Edit the stored Transponder list??? Just please tell me which receiver box you would recommend as mine always seem to have the instructions translated from japanese by babelfish or have a random set of functions which do not include the one I need.
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
Most of those Satellites you mention are long since gone from 19.2E!

That kind of proves your lists are out of date: So use any one of those lists and add the Transponder mentioned earlier.

Current Satellites and Transponders at 19.2E here

Perhaps you could just rename one of the old lists to "Astra 19E" and edit it to correlate with the up to date info I linked to?

Thank you for this - I knew I could update the stations received by rescanning but that does not make a difference to the current satellites and transponders. How do I add a transponder? I am quite good at technical stuff if I have a manual but I don't and I am at a loss.
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
OK I am doing a blind ssearch on each of Astra 2A, B Astra 1F 1G etc
but this does not get over the problem of these Astras not being the up to date ones. How do I update my list of Astras please?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Sadly I can't give you step by step instructions for your box and virtually all other boxes have double-dutch destructions, so getting another probably won't help.

Apologies for the delay in Approving your Posts >> I seem to be Moderating on my tod right now and it's very busy indeed with the new Astra 2E Satellite coming on stream.

As for your lists, if your dish is aligned to 19E (which it must be) and is dedicated to that alone, then you can use any known working list you like: The names are just labels that you can change to anything you want.

But a point I missed before is that you are getting the Channel Ident coming up, so perhaps the problem is not what we assumed.

I'll get back to you later as my Mods Alert button is glowing red-hot right now!
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I wonder ......... can you find a button on your Remote Telecommander that says "Audio".

Then press it and see what options come up: I suppose you might not have the right stream selected by default (Clutching at straws!)
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
Sadly I can't give you step by step instructions for your box and virtually all other boxes have double-dutch destructions, so getting another probably won't help.

Apologies for the delay in Approving your Posts >> I seem to be Moderating on my tod right now and it's very busy indeed with the new Astra 2E Satellite coming on stream.

As for your lists, if your dish is aligned to 19E (which it must be) and is dedicated to that alone, then you can use any known working list you like: The names are just labels that you can change to anything you want.

But a point I missed before is that you are getting the Channel Ident coming up, so perhaps the problem is not what we assumed.

I'll get back to you later as my Mods Alert button is glowing red-hot right now!

Thank you Tivu - I think I understand better. I don't see how I can change the Astra list to be more up to date but I have done the blind search which seems to be the same thing as the detailed set on my old box. I am doing that for each of the Astras I have and many more are coming up so I am hoping when it has finished that there will be a working France culture and my TV5Monde France will still be there. Thank you for you time and help. There is no hurry I thought your replies were lightening fast.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
See my previous Post >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Try the Audio button ;)

In fact, if you have a TV/Radio button, try that too. On some of my boxes I have to positively switch from TV to Radio.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Also, by searching each of the "Astras" on Auto, all you will get is exactly the same Channel lists replicated. Just pick one of them .................... At this rate you'll fill up your box's memory.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
And, in the meantime, I shall go see if I can pick it up ok here.

Don't wait up.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ok. Scans in and there is only a single Audio track, which works fine.
 

rodscha

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,469
Reaction score
422
Points
83
Age
69
Location
carcassonne south France(Languedoc)
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
carcassonne south france,700ks south of Paris ,300k N of Barcelona
actually you must make sure you re scanning for "radios" that usually come separated from "tv"
then you nne 1 list for "astra 1" 19°E,say "list 1"
one for hotbird(13°E),say list 2
and another for astra 2(BBC etc) 28E,say list 3
the idea is one for each position of your dish
the group of sat on 19E only needs one name & one list,astra 1!!
rodolphe from carcassonne
 

hilaryanne

Archived Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
I have a humax fox free to air receiver and a PIXX ADT 1200 free to air
My Location
England
I checked and france culture is on
astra 1,19°E
11568V22000
with an array of other French radio stations.
Hello Rodsha

I only seem to have two catalunya radio stations on this frequency...
 
Top