Realignment wanted London (zone 2, N7)

Rich-G

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
London
Hi,

I have a 1 metre dish mounted on my terrace using a ground mount, it has a monobloc and all I want doing is the dish to be realigned to pick up Astra 19E and Hotbird 13E. As its a ground dish theres no drilling, no climbing ladders etc, should be a really easy job, 20 mins I would imagine, I just don't have a satellite finder or patience to do it myself.

The cable runs through my door using one of those "thin" type cables so the door can close without drilling a hole, I'm not sure if the cable still works so if the person doing the realignment could bring cable "just incase" then that would be excellent.

Thanks.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
That's an unduly big dish for the purpose!

You don't happen to have an 80cm (ish) lurking around at all?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Why not have a go yourself first Rich? Its an easy job for a sunny afternoon, and you will learn a lot about dish installation. Theres plenty of help available here.

Ive installed all my own dishes and never used a sat meter on any of them. I just use an old portable tv and a very secondhand receiver out in the garden.

If you get stuck or completely fed up then you ccan get a pro in.
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Why not have a go yourself first Rich? Its an easy job for a sunny afternoon, and you will learn a lot about dish installation. Theres plenty of help available here.

Ive installed all my own dishes and never used a sat meter on any of them. I just use an old portable tv and a very secondhand receiver out in the garden.

If you get stuck or completely fed up then you ccan get a pro in.
Nice one A/S. Reminds me of a couple of sat installs I did for customers. Got the dish bolted up and guessed where it should be pointing. Then plug the meter in and the anlignment is band on. Only happened a couple of times though :)
 

Rich-G

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
London
Yeah I used to do it myself a while back, I'd have someone shouting the percentages the dreambox was reading whilst I was out on the balcony making finite adjustments. The portable TV is a good idea, or better yet maybe a portable USB sat card for a laptop and I could have the laptop on the table out on the balcony.

I did one time setup a motorised setup all by hand and got mostly there (I didn't get all the channels on all the dishes but got most of them).

I've been quoted £30 from someone from Gumtree but yeah I may invest in a USB card for the laptop and give it a shot myself again, it used to be a bit of a hobby and something I want to get into again.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
£30 is very cheap - as long as you don't pay until you're happy. I doubt you'll get a cheaper quote even from our erstwhile London Members.

But do get back into the wider aspects as the hobby remains fascinating - as some avenues have closed off, others have opened up and there are so many interesting aspects to explore.
 

Rich-G

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
London
I do have a 80cm dish as well.

I've attached some pics of the setup I'm dealing with here. Notice the rather crude way the non-penetrating roof mount is positioned without sandbags / slabs... its alright I mean the mount itself is 20+kg and the dish is heavey so its not exactly blowing anywhere.









 

Rich-G

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
London
I do have a 80cm dish as well.

I've attached some pics of the setup I'm dealing with here. Notice the rather crude way the non-penetrating roof mount is positioned without sandbags / slabs... its alright I mean the mount itself is 20+kg and the dish is heavey so its not exactly blowing anywhere.










The non-pentrating is actually a four square style one but its too close to the wall when in that configuration, so I've done it as two square and just layed on the other side on top of the same side to give it a bit more weight. I have had this setup working fine, so its easy to access the dish as you can see. I will give this a go likely next weekend. :-)
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
The reason I asked about an 80cm dish is that 6 degree Monoblocks are designed to work optimally with that size of dish.

Whilst people do stick Monoblocks on smaller dishes (I myself did, for SWMBO, using an old BSkyB "Analogue" jobbie) and get decent results, it can be tricky. Ditto with "large" dishes.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,949
Reaction score
7,222
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Oooh, my lexicon slipped up there (Unless you've retired or died!).

Delete "erstwhile" and Insert "celebrated" .....................
 

Rich-G

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
London
Hi guys,

Can you guys give me opinion on this item form eBay...

USB Digital Satellite DVB-S (eBay item 141039304112)

Cheap sat card, I think if I get this and plug it into my Windows XP netbook I should be able to use that as a mechanism to align the dish using some I presume free software from the net? Basically I just want to have a signal strength metre for the garden... will this do the trick?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,949
Reaction score
7,222
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Specification - DVB-S

Supports SDTV/HDTV ?
 

hexah

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
2,632
Reaction score
591
Points
113
Age
14
My Satellite Setup
motorized Gibertini 85cm, fixed dishes from 1m to 64cm, generic FTA HD RX, TBS DVB-S2 PC card, a pile of bits and pieces
My Location
Hadrians Wall
I do have a 80cm dish as well.

I've attached some pics of the setup I'm dealing with here. Notice the rather crude way the non-penetrating roof mount is positioned without sandbags / slabs... its alright I mean the mount itself is 20+kg and the dish is heavey so its not exactly blowing anywhere.

Have you added any weight to the roof mount?

In a few months the wind will be enough to catch the dish like a sail and moonwalk the mount across the balcony.

How high up is it? If it is above the roof height of surrounding houses then I would prefer to use Triax DAP 710 or DAP 910 because they are designed to withstand the wind pressures up there without deforming as the standard thin faced antenna might.
 
Top