Newbie Here Receiving BBC(and UK FTA TV) in northen Italy

SuperGiachi567

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Regular SKY Italia dish, don't know radius
My Location
Padova
Hi, i'm new to this topic, i'd like to receive UK FTA TV in Italy(Padova, north-east of Italy). i currently have a SKY dish on my roof, and never tried to use it as a non-sky dish. I'd like to know if this setup is decent enough to receive those channels

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I'd like to know if this setup is decent enough to receive those channels
Hi! Welcome to the Forum. It would be more understandable if you show couple of pictures of your setup.

A

archive10

Hi, i'm new to this topic, i'd like to receive UK FTA TV in Italy(Padova, north-east of Italy). i currently have a SKY dish on my roof, and never tried to use it as a non-sky dish. I'd like to know if this setup is decent enough to receive those channels
Adding to what @RimaNTSS writes, you will need to understand that the BBC FTA channels are shared with the Sky subscriptions, so that they use the one and the same dish set-up.
The FTA channels are protected not by Scrambling (as with the dedicated Sky channels), but with a narrow-footprint beam.
So receiving the BBC/ITV/etc FTA channels can be a challenge in North Italy.

A standard Sky dish may receive Sky channels such as Sky Sports from the Europe-wide beams, but will not be sufficient to receive BBC/ITV/etc.
To receive the FTA channels, you need a larger dish, probably in the range of 180cm or similar.
Are you willing/interested/allowed to put such a dish on the roof?

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Northern Italy is in a very poor signal strength area for the BBC & ITV channels - have a look at the map in my sig for typical signal dish sizes