Receiving other programmes

wium

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
147
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
85
My Satellite Setup
C and Ku
My Location
South Africa
With a Freesat decoder can one receive programmes from other satellites?
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,692
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
wium said:
With a Freesat decoder can one receive programmes from other satellites?


Not unless you have multiple lnb's or a motorised dish :cool:
 

wium

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
147
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
85
My Satellite Setup
C and Ku
My Location
South Africa
Thanks Topper.By the same token can i receive with a Free to Air receiver all the channels that are available on the Freesat decoder.If in the affirmative why purchase a Freesat decoder/receiver.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,692
Reaction score
3,858
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
wium said:
Thanks Topper.By the same token can i receive with a Free to Air receiver all the channels that are available on the Freesat decoder.If in the affirmative why purchase a Freesat decoder/receiver.

Well apart from C5 which is FTV and not yet FTA and the fact there is no dedicated freesat epg............... very little, you do of course get the chance to Beta test them now isn't that fun!

Edit, having said that I just realised that you are in South Africa so the answer must be for you no
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Because it has a proper EPG, and the idea is for it to be much easier to setup than your usual FTA receiver.
 

Low Profile

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
364
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, DM7000 80GB HD with Asus WL330 wifi + 2GB usb drive, Skystar2.3, 2.2m Kinhuge Dish with Inverto LNB and Invacom ADF-120 feedhorn. Pace 1.3.25 and 80cm for Sky.
My Location
Lot, Dordogne, Correze border.
And HD compliant.
 
Top