Receiving Usa Channels In Uk

JUVE

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
Hotbird 13
Astra 28.2
My Location
NORTH WEST
Can you receive US chanels with a satellite dish in the uk?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,905
Reaction score
9,747
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
No - the satellites they transmit off are below our western horizon.
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
If you had a dish about 5M+ in size, you might get a glimmer of something, but as analoguesat says, it's a no no due to our position... :(
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,905
Reaction score
9,747
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I can never understand the fascination with getting Stateside telly - all the best programmes are shown over here anyway which leaves an awful lot of dross and far too many hours of ad breaks every day :D
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,506
Reaction score
3,796
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
In any case even if it was possible, the equipment they use stateside is mostly circular polarisation either left or right whereas we use horizontal and vertical IIRC
 

john_m

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Echostar 3600, Sky Digibox, NTL
Does anyone remember the MS NBC ntsc broadcasts from about 5 years ago on 12 or 15w ?
 

michael01707

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
Channel Master 1.2m and 1.8m, Vantage VT-X221TS CI and 8000s, Technomate V-Box II, 18" Superjack actuator
My Location
London
MSNBC is still available on 15w. 11532 H SR 3.198 SID 1.

Analogue is right, there is no need for anyone to want American television when we have all their imports and now American programmes are shown much sooner after their first broadcast in the US due to illegal downloading. American sports are also available on various UK channels.

And we're not short of American news coverage, Fox News on Sky, CBS news shown on Sky News as well as MSNBC on 15w.
 
Top