Reception of Badr4 (26E)

far78

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
143
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
1m Orbital and Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor, TBS 6925 and Tevii S464 PC cards, TM5402 M1
My Location
York, North Yorkshire
Just noticed that since last night, I've lost reception of Badr4 on my system. Other positions seem ok - anyone else in the UK especially having any issues? Have a 1m Orbital dish paired up to my TBS 6925 card here in North Yorkshire.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
You rang, m'lud?

I shall go have a shufti .............................
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Not looked at 26E for a while, so have just done a complete scan and brought in 55 FTA TV.

1m dish, your neck of t'woods.
 

far78

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
143
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
1m Orbital and Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor, TBS 6925 and Tevii S464 PC cards, TM5402 M1
My Location
York, North Yorkshire
Ah thanks! Had a close look at my dish and can't see any dents that would cause reflections but am picking up 28E on 26E despite double checking my motor is aligned correctly for it :( I'll have another go later on though. Other positions seem fine so am wondering what's going on here ....
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
It only takes a very small displacement of the alignment to cause the 26E/28E conflict.

Easy temporary fix is to adjust the 26E "Satellite" Azimuth to 25.5 deg, maybe even as low as 25.2 deg, or (As all weaker Satellites are likely to be affected), adjust your USALS Longitude by a few tenths - find out which way by experiment!
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,229
Reaction score
12,292
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
150 x tv clearing here one transponder down 12149 H 30000 Saudi Sports normally I clear 163 x TV with 100cm
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Lucky Southerners!
 

dxhound2003

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
680
Reaction score
197
Points
43
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
Az Box Premium.
Triax 110 cm dish motorised.
Black Ultra LNB. Nov 2011 DrD F15.
My Location
Dundalk Ireland
In theory the footprint would be more favourable in Yorkshire than for me on the east coast of Ireland. Last time I did a full scan I had 159 TV. I just rescanned 12149 because Saudi Sport-3 HD and 4HD were showing No Audio Video. They rescanned as Saudi Sport-1 SD and 2 SD with the same programmes as 1 and 2 HD.

Strongest tp is 12182 9.7 dB, weakest 12523 5.9 dB, most of the others are between 8 and 9.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yes, before I took my TD110 down, I got better results.

The extra 10cm was all important.
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Not looked on 26e for ages used to peak the dish on a strong tp and then on the mbc transponder if its still 11919h?
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
3,071
Reaction score
3,550
Points
113
Age
81
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
A scan with my 100cm this morning.
Raining.
TBS 6925 100cm Dish.
 

Attachments

  • 26E 1.jpg
    26E 1.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 24
  • 26E 2.jpg
    26E 2.jpg
    204 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:

digi247

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
429
Points
63
Location
NW
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
UK
169 TV here from the 1.25 Gibby, I dont bother with the radio NW UK
 

far78

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
143
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
1m Orbital and Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor, TBS 6925 and Tevii S464 PC cards, TM5402 M1
My Location
York, North Yorkshire
Thanks for all the replies :) I used to get 26E very well here and had a good 100 or so TV channels but, despite all my nudging the dish this way or that, nothing is coming through except reflections from 28.2E. Weaker satellites like 21.6E are ok and the arc is fine at my extremes too (68.5E and 45W) so unsure what's going on. Checked the dish carefully and can see no obvious dents or distortions so have decided to leave it for now but am looking at getting a new motor sometime in the future as this one does have some backlash on it (though not a huge amount).
 

Tururu

Assembled with recycled parts
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
2,873
Reaction score
983
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
90cm motorised dishes(98x90)+fixed+multiLNB+24Unicable.
Currently 56 satellites, 61°West to 57°East.

Octagon SF8008 4K Twin, VU+Duo², VU+Ultimo4K.
Recycled as the owner.
My Location
North of Madrid (28703 Spain) -3Km of IKEA (40.545847, -3.612012).:-)
Blue Nile Channel: 12740 H 2200 (Service Name)


For fishermen, watch this channel, having as low SR (2200) some tuners may have problems (Vu + DUO2 to officially SR2000).
--------------
Para los pescadores, cuidado con este canal, al tener un SR tan bajo (2200) algunos sintonizadores pueden tener problemas (Vu+duo2 hasta SR2000 oficialmente).


Another thing more, officially Badr4 in FSS footprint, but if I compare with this one tp 12683 V 27500 (Badr4, FSS) much more powerful (thanks to SR27500), the longitug tuned to the satellite antenna 100%, I have to change the length +0'4º to win a 7% signal and 0'5dB extras, they note, it shows.
img_a4540.gif

-----------
Otra cosa mas, oficialmente en Badr4 en la huella FSS, pero si comparo con este otro tp 12683 V 27500 (Badr4, FSS) mucho mas potente (gracias al SR27500), afinada la longitug de la antena al satelite al 100%, tengo que modificar la longitud +0'4º para poder ganar un 7% de señal y 0'5dB extras, se nota, se nota.
img_a4540.gif




Officially footprint FSS Madrid and parts of Europe are 48dBw ==> 60cm (70cm rain margin).
Oficialmente huella FSS por Madrid y parte de Europa son 48dBw ==> 60cm (70cm rain margin).

635165919790312500.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 12740H2200.jpg
    12740H2200.jpg
    50.7 KB · Views: 19
  • 12683V27500.jpg
    12683V27500.jpg
    35.6 KB · Views: 16

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
643
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
Thanks for all the replies :) I used to get 26E very well here and had a good 100 or so TV channels but, despite all my nudging the dish this way or that, nothing is coming through except reflections from 28.2E. Weaker satellites like 21.6E are ok and the arc is fine at my extremes too (68.5E and 45W) so unsure what's going on. Checked the dish carefully and can see no obvious dents or distortions so have decided to leave it for now but am looking at getting a new motor sometime in the future as this one does have some backlash on it (though not a huge amount).
Try the Dubai TV transponder on 12130 MHz Vertical (DVB-S 27500, 3/4), this is currently free of interference as there are no transmissions around this frequency from 28 east, so you won't get a false positive of services 'next door' trying to aim correctly at 26 east. Once you get this transponder properly aligned, the remaining transmissions from Badr 4's BSS beam can then be searched.

Edit: whoops! The polarisation is vertical, not horizontal.
 
Last edited:

far78

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
143
Reaction score
64
Points
28
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
1m Orbital and Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor, TBS 6925 and Tevii S464 PC cards, TM5402 M1
My Location
York, North Yorkshire
Try the Dubai TV transponder on 12130 MHz Vertical (DVB-S 27500, 3/4), this is currently free of interference as there are no transmissions around this frequency from 28 east, so you won't get a false positive of services 'next door' trying to aim correctly at 26 east. Once you get this transponder properly aligned, the remaining transmissions from Badr 4's BSS beam can then be searched.

Edit: whoops! The polarisation is vertical, not horizontal.

Ah yes, great idea! As expected, that one is coming in and signal strength is 60%! So it does indeed look like there is a reflection from 28.2E :(
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
440
Reaction score
643
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
I wonder if the sudden loss of stations coincided with the transfer of services from the Astra 2A to 2E & 2F satellites? Many of these services lie in the 11.7-12.5GHz band that Badr 4 uses on their BSS beam, and the new Euro beams on the 2E & 2F satellites are a little bit stronger than those on 2A in Britain, meaning that off-beam side splatter interference is increased thus interfering with Badr 4 reception more compared to around a month ago. Even the very narrow -3db beamwidth of your 100cm dish might not be enough separation between the two orbital slots now, and if the dish isn't spot on 26.0 east, just slightly more to the east like 26.2 or 26.3 for example, the receiver might see two conflicting signals and judge that the signal from 28 east is the one to lock on. As you've seen, the Dubai stations come in as they have no such interference to contend with.

I've had this problem myself as my motor has a slight bit of backlash so when trying to lock on to Badr 4, the Dubai transponder is one to lock on to, peak the signal (I use Diseqc 1.2 to do this after initially using USALS) to try and centre it dead on as best you can, then scan the MBC transponder at 11919MHz. If the MBC stations then come in fine, then most if not all of the other Badr 4 BSS transmissions should come in fine as well, though signal levels can vary. If after centring on the Dubai signal, MBC still won't come through, try nudging the dish 0.1 west to try and escape the interference and try MBC again - the idea simply being to minimise interference while ensuring you still have useful signal strength & quality from the position you want. It works for me here in Co. Tyrone which in theory should have slightly less signal from the Badr 4 BSS footprint than North Yorkshire.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,103
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
He's only a few miles from me, with a similar size dish, yet (see earlier Post), there has been no change here.

Of course, those few miles just might be critical.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,229
Reaction score
12,292
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Badr-4 @ 26 east 12149 H 30000 Saudi Sports still no signal here on my 100cm has this transponder moved to Badr 5 or 6 ?
 
Top