Advice Needed Reception of Eutelsat3B(3.1E)

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
I live in Umeå , Sweden. Ihave 120 cmdish (EchoStar) withEcuatormotor.andvbox, InvacomSNF-031 LNB with feed horn. Vu+duo2 receiver . I want to receive Waarsportson12566V on Eutelsat3B(3.1E). I live in Umeå , Sweden. I get reception only during late night and early morning if sky clear. I want to improve reception . I am not allowed to have larger dish. I have been told that this LNB is best for this prime focus dish. I wonder if another receiver for example Dr HD D15 or TM 5402
Which of this 2 receivers have most senstive tuner ?
Thanks for your advice. Thanks in advance
 

zorbua

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
905
Reaction score
842
Points
93
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000 HD
Dreambox 800se
Dreambox 900UHD
Clark Tech 5000 HD
Numerous other receivers (Retired)
Dish Gibertini 1.5 M
Dishes Gibertini 1.2 x2
Dish Gibertini 1 M
My Location
Malta
Well the way I see it if you cannot get a bigger Dish it will ALWAYS be a trail & error method both with a Dr. HD or TM 5402 Rx. There is nothing than having a bigger Dish when it comes to fringe Reception.
 
A

archive10

Guest
I live in Umeå , Sweden. Ihave 120 cmdish (EchoStar) withEcuatormotor.andvbox, InvacomSNF-031 LNB with feed horn. Vu+duo2 receiver . I want to receive Waarsportson12566V on Eutelsat3B(3.1E). I live in Umeå , Sweden. I get reception only during late night and early morning if sky clear. I want to improve reception . I am not allowed to have larger dish. I have been told that this LNB is best for this prime focus dish. I wonder if another receiver for example Dr HD D15 or TM 5402
Which of this 2 receivers have most senstive tuner ?
Thanks for your advice. Thanks in advance
Is the problem the signal quality or the strength?

The invacoms don't have a particularly strong output, you may find better results with Inverto Black Ultras or similar high-performance LNBs (see elsewhere on this site for comparisons).
Don't necessarily need the separate feedhorn, the Echostar (manufactured by Prodelin) is a standard 0.6 F/D, and so should work well with universal LNBs. But not all agree, there's many opinions.

Trial and error is way forward. Get an Inverto Black Ultra Single or other make, and try for yourself. They are luckily not that expensive.

Only thing about echostar (I have one myself) is the LNB holder bracket seems designed for LNBs with a 30mm neck (no such thing). I tried the 40mm (standarD), and they seem to fit badly in the recess. My 23mm (next size down) are not held tightly at all. Not sure what the original feedhorn was, but it'd be interesting to find out.
 

Terryl

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
2,838
Reaction score
1,687
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

Custom built PC
My Location
Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
Take a look at the link below, (copy and paste into your browser) it has an active footprint map for that satellite, select the beam for Europe, then zoom into your location, and click on it, this will give you an estimated dish size for that location, if you can go bigger then that may fix a lot of fade problems.

Code:
http://www.satbeams.com/footprints?norad=39773
 

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
Is the problem the signal quality or the strength?

The invacoms don't have a particularly strong output, you may find better results with Inverto Black Ultras or similar high-performance LNBs (see elsewhere on this site for comparisons).
Don't necessarily need the separate feedhorn, the Echostar (manufactured by Prodelin) is a standard 0.6 F/D, and so should work well with universal LNBs. But not all agree, there's many opinions.

Trial and error is way forward. Get an Inverto Black Ultra Single or other make, and try for yourself. They are luckily not that expensive.

Only thing about echostar (I have one myself) is the LNB holder bracket seems designed for LNBs with a 30mm neck (no such thing). I tried the 40mm (standarD), and they seem to fit badly in the recess. My 23mm (next size down) are not held tightly at all. Not sure what the original feedhorn was, but it'd be interesting to find out.
Thank you very much for all your good advices. I removed rain protected cover over the LNB , this results in improvment of signal strengh and quality and stable signal on 3.1 E. Then tested Nilesat on 7 W and i could get following transponders on Nilesat 102 ( 11938, 12907) . I could not get any other transponders on Nilesat or 8 W. I could not get any signal on 21 E, 25.5 E or 26E. According to Satbeam , there would be greater ossibility to get signal on 21E or 26E than Nilesat at my location. It is strange that i got no signal on 26E. Testes are made with Dr HD F15 avd VU+DUO2.Who can i localize the exact position of 26 E using Ecuator motor , as there is no strong signal or feed in europe on this bird ? Please if someone has experince regarding Echostar dish , i would be greatful.
 
A

archive10

Guest
Sounds like your polarmount could be out of alignment.
Are you getting anything at all other than 7w?
If you had it set up and aligned recently, it less likely to be out of alignment, but if it was set up some time ago, and there is a chance it might have been bumped (or even set up wrongly), you might benefit from re-aligning it.
There are actually a page from the manual posted in at least two other threads on this site on how to do this (but it tequires patience and some.time). Search for echostar 120.
 

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
Sounds like your polarmount could be out of alignment.
Are you getting anything at all other than 7w?
If you had it set up and aligned recently, it less likely to be out of alignment, but if it was set up some time ago, and there is a chance it might have been bumped (or even set up wrongly), you might benefit from re-aligning it.
There are actually a page from the manual posted in at least two other threads on this site on how to do this (but it tequires patience and some.time). Search for echostar 120.
Thank you very much for your advise. I get following sat positions 8W ( only some europian feed channels) , 7.3 w ( 2transponders ), 5 W, 4W, 0.8W, 3.1E, 4.8E, 7E, 9E, 10E , 13E, 16E , 19.2E , 23.5E, 28.2E , 36E, 42E.
About dish aligment ,because i preveosly had T-90, the mast tubes attached to the wall did not fit Echostar 120 polar mount, I had to weld a pipe to which is about 20 cm and larger diameter in order to fit polar mount of Echostar 120. I send som pic
 

Attachments

  • 20140913_151721.jpg
    20140913_151721.jpg
    830.5 KB · Views: 64
  • 20140913_151644.jpg
    20140913_151644.jpg
    523.1 KB · Views: 64
  • 20140913_151629.jpg
    20140913_151629.jpg
    465.1 KB · Views: 62
  • 20140913_151607.jpg
    20140913_151607.jpg
    424.7 KB · Views: 56

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
I just want to point out that trees are located on the east and at time i took pic the dish are directed toward 23.5 east degree.
 
A

archive10

Guest
Thank you very much for your advise. I get following sat positions 8W ( only some europian feed channels) , 7.3 w ( 2transponders ), 5 W, 4W, 0.8W, 3.1E, 4.8E, 7E, 9E, 10E , 13E, 16E , 19.2E , 23.5E, 28.2E , 36E, 42E.
About dish aligment ,because i preveosly had T-90, the mast tubes attached to the wall did not fit Echostar 120 polar mount, I had to weld a pipe to which is about 20 cm and larger diameter in order to fit polar mount of Echostar 120. I send som pic
Nice installation.
Yes, the Echostar fits a 3" (75mm) tube.

Well, as you get all those sats, it's not a milion miles off. However, not knowing how you aligned the dish, I would like to ask the following:

1) are you sure the welded piece is strictly vertical (at least is absolutely has got to be vertical in the east-west direction).
2) is the tracking the arc exactly? (i.e. is the inclination spot on?)
3) what is the feedhorn? Is it an echostar one (i.e. a Prodelin one)? Make sure you're using a feedhorn for offset dishes.
 

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
Nice installation.
Yes, the Echostar fits a 3" (75mm) tube.

Well, as you get all those sats, it's not a milion miles off. However, not knowing how you aligned the dish, I would like to ask the following:

1) are you sure the welded piece is strictly vertical (at least is absolutely has got to be vertical in the east-west direction).
2) is the tracking the arc exactly? (i.e. is the inclination spot on?)
3) what is the feedhorn? Is it an echostar one (i.e. a Prodelin one)? Make sure you're using a feedhorn for offset dishes.
Thanks so much for your help. I really appreciate it.
1. According to the spirit level it is completely vertical, however when i look at it with naked eye it does not look completely vertical.
2.According to inclonometer it should be exact.
3. the feedhorn is channel master feedhorn. I got the feedhorn when i bought the dish, it is second hand. the person i bought the dish from told me that the dish has exact performance as channel master dish , and the feed horn should be channel master feed horn , and the best lnb for such dish invacom LNB, is that true ?
 
A

archive10

Guest
Thanks so much for your help. I really appreciate it.
1. According to the spirit level it is completely vertical, however when i look at it with naked eye it does not look completely vertical.
2.According to inclonometer it should be exact.
3. the feedhorn is channel master feedhorn. I got the feedhorn when i bought the dish, it is second hand. the person i bought the dish from told me that the dish has exact performance as channel master dish , and the feed horn should be channel master feed horn , and the best lnb for such dish invacom LNB, is that true ?
1. Ok, if mr Sprit says it is, it probably is. Do make sure mr Spirit is right both ways (rotating the level 180 degress sometimes shows slight differences)
2. Ok. then you should be ok. As in the set-up guide for the Echostar, you need to peak the center, then a east and west sat to ensure you're on the arc.
3. Ok, that should do just fine. Invacom with feed-horn is often found to be good combination. You should be fine, but if anything, you MAY get get higher output by using an Inverto Black Ultra or Similar high-output LNBF. If you have long cable-path, or splitters / combiners, you may get more mileage from the Black Ultra. Worth a try if you can lay your hands on one (they're not that expensive). But correct alignment is everything. Then optimise LNB etc 8)
 

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
1. Ok, if mr Sprit says it is, it probably is. Do make sure mr Spirit is right both ways (rotating the level 180 degress sometimes shows slight differences)
2. Ok. then you should be ok. As in the set-up guide for the Echostar, you need to peak the center, then a east and west sat to ensure you're on the arc.
3. Ok, that should do just fine. Invacom with feed-horn is often found to be good combination. You should be fine, but if anything, you MAY get get higher output by using an Inverto Black Ultra or Similar high-output LNBF. If you have long cable-path, or splitters / combiners, you may get more mileage from the Black Ultra. Worth a try if you can lay your hands on one (they're not that expensive). But correct alignment is everything. Then optimise LNB etc 8)
thank you again.
I see that you have Echostar 120 in danmark. which feedhorn do you use ? which LNB ? Do you get signal from 21E , 7W, 8W and 26E ? which one of this inverto would give better result on such dish
Inverto High Gain Low Noise Black Ultra Pro singel
0r Inverto single falange, c-120 lnb ?
Thanks in advance-
 
A

archive10

Guest
Just discovered that I missed your post above. Apologies for that.

Unfortunately, my Echostar is currently not aligned with anything (had to be taken down to allow for garden refurb). In fact, it's been washed and is right now lying wet on the terrace!

But I have tried an Inverto BUQ with good results (the dish is 0.6 F/D), and the Invacom SNH-031 single with integrated feed-horn. Lower signals, and slightly less S/N ratio. Have not tried separate feed-horn; although this would probably be a good idea (as the mount seems to suggest best fit for a 23mm neck).
When I get to re-align the dish, I will be happy to point at 3.1E to see what reception is there...
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi its quite good for feeds, I watched the Liverpool game there tonight,
 

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
Just discovered that I missed your post above. Apologies for that.

Unfortunately, my Echostar is currently not aligned with anything (had to be taken down to allow for garden refurb). In fact, it's been washed and is right now lying wet on the terrace!

But I have tried an Inverto BUQ with good results (the dish is 0.6 F/D), and the Invacom SNH-031 single with integrated feed-horn. Lower signals, and slightly less S/N ratio. Have not tried separate feed-horn; although this would probably be a good idea (as the mount seems to suggest best fit for a 23mm neck).
When I get to re-align the dish, I will be happy to point at 3.1E to see what reception is there...
Thank you very much mate. I get almost all ku band channels on 3.1 using Invacom SNF-031. it will be interesting to see if i can get more than 3 transponders on nilesat 7.3 w or any transponders on 26 e.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
10,469
Reaction score
10,894
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 34.5 west)
TM6902HD (A/B switch) Octagon SX88+Optima
TM5302HD + Inverto Premium PLL Lnb for compiling Ch lists.

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + Inverto Black Ultra
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ (A/B switch) Edision S2

45cm dish V8 Golden 28E FreeSat Quad Lnb
Virgin Media FreeSat
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
I have found that the TM5502HD when used with a 102cm Gibertini + Inverto 0.2 Black Ultra gets more weak signals than these receivers when used with the same dish set up:-

Dr HD D15,
TM 5402HD M3,
TM6900HD Super+
VU+Duo2.

Hope this helps you in Umeå Sweden.
 
Last edited:

daif01

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
dream box 600
My Location
sweden
I have found that the TM5502HD when used with a 102cm Gibertini + Inverto 0.2 Black Ultra gets more weak signals than these receivers when used with the same dish set up:-

Dr HD D15,
TM 5402HD M3,
TM6900HD Super+
VU+Duo2.

Hope this helps you in Umeå Sweden.
thank you for sharing info.
 
Top