Recommend Satellite System to get 60E

ashiraf

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
London
My Satellite Setup
TM5402 HD, TD110, sky+hd
My Location
South East London
Hi everyone, newbie here, I'm quite new to this and would like some advice on what type of equipment I need. I'm interested in buying a satelite dish + reciever so that I can pick up IntelSat 904 in the sky which carries some channels of particular interest. The particular channels are Bukedde 1, NTV Uganda and WBS TV all on same satellite. I have been able to gather that Its C band and the minimum and maximum dish sizes I require are between 115cm and 145cm based on a EIRP (dBW) of 39.

So far I have only managed to come across two suppliers, Satellite superstore who recommended me a 1.4m primefocus @ 399.95, a c-band lnb at 89.99 and Technomate TM5402 MK 2 reciver @ 139.99. The other guy is digitalsatsystems based in portugal i believe who sell Famaval dishes. For my particular one, I was quoted 125 Euros + 300 packaging and shipping. Anyone got any recommendations? are these the average prices and what's the quality like. And most importantly, if anyone can check out those channels for me to see what reception is like. According to information I looked UK is within the footprint. Thank you. A.S
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,109
Reaction score
9,826
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
IS-904 is at 60E and fairly low down so unless you have a clear horizon out towards the the SE you wont be able to see the satellite. Ideally in London the dish will need to be on top of an office block or flats etc to clear obstructions..
 

ashiraf

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
London
My Satellite Setup
TM5402 HD, TD110, sky+hd
My Location
South East London
Thanks for the reply. I have got a clear view of it and have tested this with an app that was recommended to me, it's called 'Dish Pointer Augumented Reality Pro' which incase your not familiar with basically uses your phone camera and GPS co-ordinates and shows where the satellite is and any obstructions that are in the way.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
FWIW ..I would suggest your minimum required dish size is more likely in the region of 1.8 mtrs ..to allow for the fading effect noticeable at low elevation ..and any possible weather related fading ..
Obviously the higher up it'is mounted as has been suggested (atop a building etc) ..the greater your chances of success and lowers the incidence of fading ..
ie the higher the dish the less the elevation becomes critical.
 

ashiraf

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
London
My Satellite Setup
TM5402 HD, TD110, sky+hd
My Location
South East London
FWIW ..I would suggest your minimum required dish size is more likely in the region of 1.8 mtrs ..to allow for the fading effect noticeable at low elevation ..and any possible weather related fading ..
Obviously the higher up it'is mounted as has been suggested (atop a building etc) ..the greater your chances of success and lowers the incidence of fading ..
ie the higher the dish the less the elevation becomes critical.

What do you mean by fading?
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
FWIW ..I would suggest your minimum required dish size is more likely in the region of 1.8 mtrs ..to allow for the fading effect noticeable at low elevation ..and any possible weather related fading ..
Obviously the higher up it'is mounted as has been suggested (atop a building etc) ..the greater your chances of success and lowers the incidence of fading ..
ie the higher the dish the less the elevation becomes critical.


Can you lock any transponders here V/S please, I know ive locked here in the past but it was a while ago :-( any tp and times to try would be appreciated :-).
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Sadly no ..even in winter when the TT sheds its leaves ..
This one is a problem on Christina.
I suspect partial obstruction by a garden wall ..and clipping a large semi detached in the line of fire..
In winter I can lock a couple of transponders on 57E ..but not 60E.
I think Nelson managed a couple though ..recently with his 1.8 Alcoa.
cheers
VS
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Thanks V/S, I am sure it was a few feeds I managed to log here over 4/5 years ago, my 1.2 dish atm wont get round that far, i am not locking anything on the 1mtr the times I have tried I will have to have a look on the bigger dish when I can afford a new motor for it 46/47 E is as far as I can get atm :-(,
time for my bed now had a few beers now lol night all :-)
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,226
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
60e? From memory, that satellite has an odd footprint. It spans from European Russia towards Scotland where you should get it on a 1m jobbie. That's in Ku....not sure about C...can't swing either of my dishes that far.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 4
 

pride21

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
442
Points
63
Age
76
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi martin-f the only channel i can get is 3966R 6000 at 62% quality it seems like a data channel because when you scan it it does not come up as a feed,any one else know what it is.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,226
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Flysat says it's just "Data" so I guess Internet service of some kind.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Its not noted on flysat (edit) kingofsat, could be data maybe someone with a pci card will know better, I cant get c band atm but its in the pipe line :),
 
Top