Recommended spacing between two brackets on a pole

spark

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
My Location
UK
I was wondering what spacing I should leave between the two brackets? I don't know whether I should take an angle grinder to the bottom and put them closeish together or have the brackets at the extremes. I'm mounting a 68cm Funke.
Its 24" bottom, 14" top, 1.5" diameter

Thanks!

Moderation Note

Please remember to upload your photos and attachments to our servers It makes page loading quicker and if the photo or external site host disappears the thread still makes sense.
 

Attachments

  • bracket.jpg
    bracket.jpg
    161.7 KB · Views: 51

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,141
Reaction score
5,485
Points
113
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Definitely put brackets as far as possible one from other, that will be more stable and also easier to make pole plumb.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
How you have it there should be fine, I'm presuming that's a steel mast?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Looks about right, but as a rule, should be about 500mm minimum as per a TK arrangement.
 

spark

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
My Location
UK
I'll make sure theres a 500mm spacing. I didn't know that!
Its an alloy mast with steel welded in the bent sections.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yes, looks much like the universal mount used for zone1's by sky.
 

spark

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
My Location
UK
satelliteman said:
Yes, looks much like the universal mount used for zone1's by sky.

Thats where I got the idea for the brackets from. They're actually from two U poles.
I've one of those Raven cranked masts that this will replace. Only being 1.25" diameter its rather wobbly vertically.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
A set of TK's with a 2 inch mast would give you something solid.
 

spark

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
My Location
UK
satelliteman said:
A set of TK's with a 2 inch mast would give you something solid.

I know its a bit of a compromise, I've got some T and Ks but I'm trying to hide the pole behind a drain and keep it as aesthetic as possible! Hopefully this 1.5" diameter pole won't be as wobby as the 1.25" raven is at the moment when I get the dish on it, although the gauge of the metal is slightly less.

I've marked the bracket holes out on the brickwork and managed a 480mm spacing. :)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Spot on... ;)
 
Top