ringing sky abroad

zambujal

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
1.25mt steel dish
Inverto Quad LNB
Digibox:Pace ds430N, Pace 2600C and Pace sky+ V3
My Location
Qta. do Conde Portugal
Just a small question for those of us who are living abroad with our sky with us.
What is the best way of ringing sky without having your number revealed? Is skype or voip cheap an option seeing as you wouldn't have to reveal your number?
Has anybody had any experience in this area?
 

jdg

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
50
well i live in Malta and i did call sky for upgrade and all ok
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
VOIP is ok to call Sky if you use a provider that gives you a fixed UK number. I have had this for a few years and have called Sky many times from Spain with no problems.
 

zambujal

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
1.25mt steel dish
Inverto Quad LNB
Digibox:Pace ds430N, Pace 2600C and Pace sky+ V3
My Location
Qta. do Conde Portugal
Thanks guys,

I have to ring to Ireland. I have heard of those skype type programs to be useful in relation to not revealing a number. I am not quite sure what was meant by getting a fixed UK number via voip cheap. How is this done (and for an Irish number)?

Thnx
 

Cupart

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
....
My Location
....
zambujal said:
Thanks guys,

I have to ring to Ireland. I have heard of those skype type programs to be useful in relation to not revealing a number. I am not quite sure what was meant by getting a fixed UK number via voip cheap. How is this done (and for an Irish number)?

Thnx

Hi Zambujal,

I'm in France most of the time and have my Irish SKY Card with me. I always call Sky from my Vodafone Pre-pay directly to Sky when there (and if needed) and never have had any problems.

You will notice that there is hardly any wait to get through to CS for Irish callers which is great so your mobile call will cost you next to nothing...

Cheers,

F
 

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
Over here I just use my local mobile phone with no problems. Today I helped a customer transfer her card to a sky+ box,using her mobile phone.
 

zambujal

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
1.25mt steel dish
Inverto Quad LNB
Digibox:Pace ds430N, Pace 2600C and Pace sky+ V3
My Location
Qta. do Conde Portugal
Thanks for all the help lads.

Just an add on question: What information should I have on hand if I want to pair card to another box or/and if I want to change payment details?

Regards to all.
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
Name
title
Address
phone number at home address
bank account details
method of payment
password
(if no password, mother's maiden name)
Current sky package
In addition, it is advisable to know:
length of time subscribing to Sky
type of receiver the card was paired to before
 

Zorba

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Age
60
My Satellite Setup
3m(28.2E),1.5m(19.2E.13E,10E),1m (4W ,7W)1m (?).diseqc 10,sky plus,VU+,telergy iptv.
Satlook nit colour + Horizon hdsm.
My Location
Limassol, Sunny Cyprus
I did one on behalf of a customer today and when i told him(i think it was through the call centre in India) the password- Chelsea-(just from the top of my head:))
he asked me if I liked football and Chelsea ,Then he mentioned he was a Liverpool fan and making conversation while the process was going through.Then he asked what I was doing at the weekend, I nearly said I was going to the beach because of the heatwave and just in time stuttered that I was visiting relatives(another pastime in Cyprus).
This is why I usually ring up on behalf of the customer(unless its a woman) because sometimes they will chat for a while.
Last week a Cypriot customer rang up to activate a HD box and he was using his brother in laws address in Scotland(his wife is Scottish) and it so happened that the sky girl was from the same area and it seemed like she was chatting him up for about five minutes !
Watch out if they ask what the weather is like.:)
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
You're right, I think call centre staff have been briefed to ask about the weather to catch out expats, this has happened to me a number of times.
 

BLUEPLATINUM

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
951
Reaction score
102
Points
43
Age
56
Location
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
My Satellite Setup
ITSarria LTE Internet, 2 X SKY HD, Invacom C120 quad LNB, Raven 2.4m offset dish, TDT (Spanish freeview)
My Location
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
To withold your number from a Spanish Telefonica landline simply dial 067 before the full international destination number.

Sky will not see your number. They may see the call flagged as "International", but apparently a lot of calls show up that anyway even if they are originated in the UK.

I personally use DrayTel as I have even more confidence knowing they are seeing a UK number.
 

aeb38

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Golden Interstar sat box windows xp
My Location
spain
Tried to activate FTV card today & was only given the 0844 numbers for sky to do this & even though I've use my UK mobile to phone this number appears to be barred from calling from abroad.

Situated on Costa Blanca.

Any suggestions as to how I can activate this (apart from getting someone in UK to do it for me)?
Have UK address on card.

Thanks
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,080
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
You could try it with Skype.
 

aeb38

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
Golden Interstar sat box windows xp
My Location
spain
Hi there

Set up Skpe on my computer (never done it before) then telephoned Sky.
Many numbers not in use.

The numbers Customer services gave me to ring was also "not in use"

So having gone back to customer services who were actually very helpful I was told to update software through the box as even though I have a new installation software was out of date to be able to activate my card.

Tried to update before I got the card but failed. This time with the card in the box it did update.

Then had to phone sky back & got customer services again as still couldn't get through to any other numbers.
Eventually after a wait of near on half an hour I was put through to the right department gave card details & Bingo! card is now activated.

So thanks for the info guys this forums advice is extremely helpful.
 

bk_man

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
50
My Satellite Setup
Humax 5400Z + DISEQ 4 switch, + 12V Switch + Diseq 2 Switch allowing 6 LNBS - Hotbird, Astra, Astra2D, Hyspasat, Thor, Telecom 2d

Sky Digital - Astra2d

Telecom 2D SkyDsl
My Location
Germany
from Spain I used to use 067 to with-hold ID, then the +44870 numbers..
e,g, +44870xxxxx from Germany it was *31# then 0044870xxxx

edited because the service is disconnected now anyway..
so it's the 0844 numbers now - I don't know other numbers that work outside - so it's down to those pesky mobiles or skype uk accounts or other voip uk accounts..
(some will not route to 0844 numbers others will)...
 

wallycharlo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
312
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
DM800 / 1m Gibertini XP
My Location
Western Austria
I don't think you will have any problems, I have never had any problems calling them from here in Austria, just turn off the caller-id on your mobile, and if it happens that they question you are to where you are (which I consider unlikely) then tell them something like you are calling from work, and all your calls are routed through a foreign call centre (for example...).

-Wally
 

Turok

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
2,237
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Age
33
My Satellite Setup
1,25 Fibostop
Jäger Smr 1224 & Smo 36 Dual Axsis Motor
Dynasat F1
Monterey 140
Drembox 800
sky Pace HD Box
Tagra 2,20 M Fullsize Dish
Echostar 2,40m Mesh for cband!
My Location
Austria
the best solution,is the sky super dailer!
that provided by german sky service in the past,with this device you can also order ppv from outside uk!
but company is out of bisness now,and operates now under a diffrent name on the net!
 
Top