Ross DVB S2 1201 .dbm file editor

amilne

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Ross HD DVB-S2 1201
My Location
uk
I have the above receiver, but no means of editing the channel listing file which has a .dbm suffix. Does anyone know of an editor to allow meaningful channel numbering?
Thanks
Alex
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,662
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
There isn't one.

But I believe that the Ross Website has updated Channel Lists available for Download and then Installed through the DB Management options in the Channel Search menu.

People have tried to adapt Channel Editors originally designed for other Boxes eg Openbox/Skybox, but without success.
 

amilne

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Ross HD DVB-S2 1201
My Location
uk
Thanks for the reply. I downloaded the latest list. It's well out of date.
It looks like I'll have to use the pathetic one on the receiver.
I'll be most unhappy if the channels change again.
Alex
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,662
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Yes, it's a downside to being free of BSkyB etc.

On the other hand, you've got a potential introduction to a whole world (Well, an arc of around 140 degrees!) of other Satellites transmitting a mind-boggling array of stuff from other Countries and Cultures.

I keep all my Channel lists heavily pruned to retain only things I do actually watch, so that making changes isn't too irksome.
 

smoggy07

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
Try opening it with notepad/notepad+ or wordpad

You never know it might work as it does with .xml files and open the list for you
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,332
Reaction score
898
Points
113
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
I had a working one from ROSS themselves for awhile and had it uploaded to this forum but it seems to be been removed and I had an HDD failure recently so it's missing for me too.
 

amilne

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Ross HD DVB-S2 1201
My Location
uk
I have tried to open it with as many readers as I can but I have found nothing sensible .
Thanks anyway.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,332
Reaction score
898
Points
113
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales

amilne

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Ross HD DVB-S2 1201
My Location
uk
Looks like that will work. My German is non-existent but I'm sure I'll get there with Google translate at hand.
Many thanks for the link.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,332
Reaction score
898
Points
113
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
No problem mate. This will work but it's buggy but English and no need for Java.
 

amilne

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Ross HD DVB-S2 1201
My Location
uk
Thanks for that.
Using the German Java version I've already got rid of the channels I don't want, just have to input the channel numbers I would like to use. I'll have to work that out. Maybe the English version will make it easier to understand.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,068
Reaction score
8,662
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Very glad I was wrong about this :)
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,332
Reaction score
898
Points
113
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
If I remember right the Ross one sent me was buggy too, so that's fine.
 
Top