Saorsat package

edbe

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
90
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Eygelshoven NL
This package is still working?
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
433
Reaction score
630
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
This package is still working?

Yes. Recently got a relevant Ka Band LNB (Triax) for reception. Presumably because of the low usage and availability of the transmissions, the channel lists on Lyngsat and Flysat are out of date e.g. RTÉ2 +1 is available now. Never sent updates to such sites before, might be worth doing this one.

Essentially it's nearly the same channel line up as that for the DVB-T Saorview platform, the main difference being the lack of the Virgin Media channels (VM1, VM2 & VM3).
 

edbe

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
90
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Eygelshoven NL
Yes. Recently got a relevant Ka Band LNB (Triax) for reception. Presumably because of the low usage and availability of the transmissions, the channel lists on Lyngsat and Flysat are out of date e.g. RTÉ2 +1 is available now. Never sent updates to such sites before, might be worth doing this one.

Essentially it's nearly the same channel line up as that for the DVB-T Saorview platform, the main difference being the lack of the Virgin Media channels (VM1, VM2 & VM3).

Okay, but i am not living in Ireland...South Limburg, that's is Holland.
 

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,806
Reaction score
7,990
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Forget it in Holland. Unless you're in Ireland, South West England or West Wales, you won't get it.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,790
Reaction score
11,249
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
This package is still working?

Forget it - there is no chance whatsoever in the Netherlands. One of our regulars tried it in Manchester a couple of years ago & couldnt get it. Its a Ka band narrow spotbeam with at least one different beam on the same frequency which blocks it
 

Fisty McB

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
433
Reaction score
630
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
See my signature...
My Location
County Tyrone, N. Ireland
Okay, but i am not living in Ireland...South Limburg, that's is Holland.
I understand. However like the couple of posts above this one have mentioned, there's no chance of receiving it in the Netherlands. Saorsat uses the Eutelsat Ka Sat at 9°E with its multiple tight spot beams with frequencies reused often (each beam uses one of four "modes" if I recall correctly that determine polarisation and frequency spectrum). Reception is limited to Ireland, Northern Ireland and parts of Wales and SW England close to the Irish Sea - it is as much interference limited as footprint limited.

The people at Dr. Dish in Germany tried to receive the Saorsat service in their country by using a 13 metre diameter dish. They had no luck.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,790
Reaction score
11,249
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
To be honest if you want the Irish stations your best bet is a standard Sky subscription (28E) registered to an Irish address. This of course will need friends / relatives in Ireland willing to act as an accommodation address.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I defeated the Saorsat spotbeam overlay once - possibly due to a switching error in the downlink transponders, receiving the channels in East Anglia -

Saorsat 9A.jpg

9A Saorsat.jpg
 
A

Anonymous_1

Guest
Hi all,

I would be most gratefull if some of you should be able to send me an actual spectrum scan of this satellite on both polarization but from Ireland (I need the spectrums, with parameters by crazy scan, IQmonitor or EBS) or spectrums by a professional analyser.
And then a spectrum with a lower span of the RTE transponder .
It s a request for a future project of a friend (professional)

Thanks in advance
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I don't know if it's been pointed to before, but there's a detailed overview of the satellite's spotbeams here -


Further to my serendipitous opening of the Saorsat package a while ago, I notice the spotbeams centred on N.Ireland and eastern England, are SB35 and SB34 respectively. This may have had some bearing on the transponder switching anomaly I experienced. Just a guess - I know nothing about how the transponders are actually working ( position on the satellite etc.)

9A Spotbeams.JPG
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I don't know if it's been pointed to before, but there's a detailed overview of the satellite's spotbeams here -


Further to my serendipitous opening of the Saorsat package a while ago, I notice the spotbeams centred on N.Ireland and eastern England, are SB35 and SB34 respectively. This may have had some bearing on the transponder switching anomaly I experienced. Just a guess - I know nothing about how the transponders are actually working ( position on the satellite etc.)

View attachment 124266
Just a thought -also possible that on the day I opened the Saorsat package here, there was an exclusive SKY Sports showing in the UK of the opening match of the Gaelic Hurdling Championship games. Maybe Saorsat opened up SB34 so Sky could downlink it? Fanciful perhaps...

(Next match showing on Sky, 12.05.2019 5 PM :D )
 

edbe

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
90
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Eygelshoven NL
thx all for the information
 

edbe

Regular Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
90
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Eygelshoven NL
i have take a TV subscription for Sky Ireland.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,790
Reaction score
11,249
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
I wouldnt take those Ka spotbeam coverages on that diagram too literally - SB35 is cobblers for starters. The NI spot gets down into north Devon - which suggests its aimed more south eastish than that diagram would indicate

SB45 is also suspect as on the diagram its covering bugger all towns of any size apart from Aberdeen & Inverness. :D

Shift it south a bit & that could well be the beam that stopped Vipersan getting any Soarsat reception when he tried a couple of years back.
 
Last edited:

sat-tv-fan

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
732
Reaction score
147
Points
43
Location
East Sussex, South East UK
My Satellite Setup
1m motorised dish + Octagon 0.1db PLL LNB
(66 E) 42 E - 45.0 W
Azbox HD Premium
Azbox ME
Amiko A3 combo (android)
TBS 5925 and 5927 USB
TBS 6903 (for Eumetsat weather decoding on 10 East)
GT Media V8
Octogan SX88+
Octagon SF8008
Koqit K1 mini
Openbox SX6 HD
Mecool K3 pro (android)
X2 Premium HD
Skybox F3
Technomate 5302 HD
Technomate 5402 M3
iSmart X8
My Location
East Sussex, South East UK
Hmm so no chance here with my 1m dish ?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,790
Reaction score
11,249
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Hmm so no chance here with my 1m dish ?


None - the east anglia beam will stop any chance. Llew who isnt too far from you got Soarsat once and once only but that may have been a beam switching error.
 
Top