satellite newbie

tricky1

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
fortec star passion
My Location
uk north london
Hi there this is my first post and i am a total newbie to satellte systemsand wish to ask you guys a couple of questions. I bought a fortec passion HD box with a 60 cm dish from maplins 2 weeks ago followed all the instalation instructions even updated the passion with the latest firmware everything worked great all the HD channels inc itv hd all looked great except channel 4 very jerky. So today i tweaked the dish using a sat finder and channel 4 is now very good and my signal strength is better, on average i get 6 bars for signal strength and 8 for quality. Now my question is this although im fairly sure im pointing at astra 2D 28.2 E after doing a multisat scan i am also able to pick up astra 19.2 E and astra 1D/3A 23.5 E with very simular signal strengths and quality, is this normal or is my dish still not quite lined up correctly. Also can someone tell me what a CAM is. Many thanks

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You arent actually picking up the second and third sats. The same block of frequencies are re-used on different satellites around the Clarke Belt. Therefore if you Scan several sets of satellites you will get some channels appear on more than one satellite. This will be where the frequencies one one satellite coincide with those on the second, third etc.

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum tricky1

A cam is a conditional access module, it has the same pinouts as a laptop pcmcia module indeed you used to be able to program them with a laptop.