Season/RS232

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
If, as on the Humax 5400z, there is an RS232 port on the rear panel, why is it necessary to use a Season Interface to connect to a PC? Would it not be simpler, tidier and more efficient to link directly from computer to STB via a null-modem able?

:confused
 

pixey

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
194
Reaction score
0
Points
16
My Location
South UK
But then you are not using the cam???

pixey
 

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
But doesn't the RS232 address the CAM when a software patch (eg ToH 2.1) is installed?

:confused
 

pixey

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
194
Reaction score
0
Points
16
My Location
South UK
Now you're asking!!
If that was the case, why is the season for a Samsung "active" and for the Humax passive, when they are both patched??

pixey
 

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
I don't know enough about the Season Interface or the innards of the Humax or Samsung to venture an answer. I'm not so hot on computing either. But it seems to me that if the CAM is directly accessible via the RS232 port, it should be possible, using appropriate software, to bypass the Season on this route. Cutting out all the intermediate hardware should also result in a faster, simpler, more reliable setup.

It's just a thought. I wouldn't know where to start.

:) :) :)
 

pixey

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
194
Reaction score
0
Points
16
My Location
South UK
I don't think that the "business" side of the cam is accessable from the rs232 port - but I could be wrong..

pixey
 

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
That would explain why the Season is necessary. But if the 'business side' is accessible, it opens up a range of possibilities.

:)
 
Top