SES 5 4.9east

Laser

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
503
Reaction score
305
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
Dr HD F15, OS mio + 4K, Octagon SF8008, Octagon SX88+. TM 5402HD M3. .Channel Master 1.20 Ku and C Band. 1.1 Triax Dish
My Location
Berkshire
Was wondering if anyone can receive this satellite in the UK?
I have 60% SQ in red but won't lock. I realise it's in DVB - S2 8PSK
Frequency I'm trying is 11265H 30000. Technomate 5402 should handle that easily....
Any thoughts?
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
ses-5_nordic_ku_band_beam_L.jpg this should give you your answer. its possible with a 1.2m but its still on the edge with no rain margin in this neck of the woods(north-west uk)
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
3,322
Points
113
Age
78
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I get six channels,inc
viasat history hd.
tv6 hd sweden
tv3 hd danmark.
Very low snr, jumps between15 aand 29 % ber 300.
Just channel names no reception.
Alien2 100 cm dish.
 
Last edited:

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I can't get it on a 90cm in south Bucks.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Nothing near Bristol on 1.2m CM or Fibo. It's an annoyingly weak satellite in UK.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Viasat History HD
TV6 HD Sweden
Viasat Explorer H
Viasat 4 HD
Viasat Nature/Cri
TV3 HD Denmark

Strength 89
Quality 70

TD110 and Skybox F3.



Comparing results from others, you need a 1m or above in the North of England but can basically forget it from the Midlands and further South.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
There seems to be a very sharp drop off from this particular beam towards the south west. I know VS had it on his TD110 at 12dB up north and someone with a Fibo here (forgot his nick) had it around midlands. I get a max of around 2dB on my F15 and the Fibo.

I wonder if pride21 has it on his Gibby 1.5m and sonnetpete?
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,672
Reaction score
3,309
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
I just checked on the Penta 85 I use for 5E on the multisat and there's nothing on 11265H. I do get channels from the Nordic beam (DR1, DR2, SVT1 HD etc.) but think these are all DVB-S. There isn't much margin for rain fade though.

I'll try and check if there's anything on the motorised dish....

No, just registering 1.6 dB on that T/P and no lock.....
 
Last edited:

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
I still get the HD channels from Astra 4A with plenty of margin, but sadly most have moved to SES-5. Annoying, as I have a sub and can't watch them :(
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Yeah Astra 4A's Nordic beam is an easy catch for my 90cm in south Bucks too. It's just SES5's Nordic beam that is the problem. Looks like this is the future for satellite reception with sharp drop offs when at the edge of the footprint.
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
3,322
Points
113
Age
78
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I had a look with my TM5402HD last night.
4.8e3.jpg 4.8e.jpg

Signal is down a bit this morning 71% .It is foggy.
TM5402HD 100cm dish.
 

digi247

In the Green Room
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
426
Points
63
Location
NW
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
UK
Similar signal level 72% on my TM5402hd on 11265 with the Gibby 1.2m here in the NW, I would imagine on the east coast these would be AOK on a smaller dish
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,672
Reaction score
3,309
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Anything just out of footprint to the North and East of me, I struggle with. In relation to the UK, I'm about as far west as Portsmouth........
 

pride21

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
442
Points
63
Age
76
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi all tried earlier its 64% quality no lock its very overcast at the moment will try later if it clears.
 

pride21

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
611
Reaction score
442
Points
63
Age
76
My Satellite Setup
150cm gibertini dish,echostar 8700 analogue receiver to move dish,motor jaeger 1224,also black ultra ku lnb and esx241 c-band lnbf and technomate 5402hd ci+ super also added a Dr HD f15 receiver
My Location
Sandown Isle of Wight
hi all just an update transponder 11265H has locked with 65% quality get six channels all scrambled.
 

Sat Mark

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
7
Points
3
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Technomate TM-5402 HD M2, Triax TD88, Alsat Superior Dark Motor, Inverto Black Ultra (37.5W > 57E), Zone 1 Mnidish @ 28E
My Location
Cambs
All seven SES 5 Nordic beam TPs coming in at 80% quality or slightly above on my TM-5402 HD M2 with TD88 and Black Ultra here in Cambridgeshire. Sadly all channels encrypted so no pictures, but I can hear the audio on the NRK channels.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I'm tempted to make a Google map...
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Top