Set Up Help with my openbox S9

phoenix101

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Computer - Windows 7, CuteFTP, FlashWizard
My Location
Bromley, London
Hi everyone,

Basically, I'm very new to this scene and I would like some advice. One of my friends gave me his OpenBox S9 to play because he bought something else and didn't want to get rid of this. I thought I would take it to help me dip my toes in and learn with it. but i'm just having a few issues.

I have attached some picture and I would very much appriciate it if someone would be kind enough to tell me if I have connected the wires on the back of it correctly. Can't really do it wrong but I would just like to check. Also, I currently have a sky subscription and i removed my sky box and connected the wires from the satellite to the S9. Does it made a difference which way round the two satellite wires are connected. I went into the menu,the edit channel list option, no channels showed up, not even the freeview channels. Y is this??

any help would be much appriciated

thank you

phoenix

Attachments

• IMG_0138.jpg
    IMG_0138.jpg
    332.2 KB · Views: 418
  • IMG_0139.jpg
    IMG_0139.jpg
    353.2 KB · Views: 420

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Is the Sky box Sky+? The S9 only has one tuner so it only uses one cable from the dish. The other socket is for loop through.

phoenix101

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
Bromley, London
Hi Huevos,

thank you for your reply. Yea the original box is a sky+ box. does that mean that I will need to remove the connector off one of the satelite wires and make both wires into one connector and link it too the "in" port of the S9??

cauliflower

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Will update again
My Location
Ireland
No unscrew dish input 2 on +box and screw into lnb in on s9

phoenix101

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
Bromley, London