Setting a C Band LNB to a KU Band Dish

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Hi I am just a beginner but I would like to know if at first is possible to recieve C Band with 1 Meter Dish. I would like to recieve Intelsat 1West which I saw some threads that it is possible during normal days.

I would like to remove my LNB on KU Dish (1Meter) and Set a C Band LNB on it (Fixed on 1W). It is possible or results will vary from Transponder to another? Some even got C band with only 2 channels with 80cm in South London but my location is Southern Europe.
Thanks Would like to recieve some comments on this.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
You can receive very, very limited number of channels in C band on a 1m dish. However, 1m is nowhere near enough to get C band on 1W. A 1.2m is barely enough on a very good day - I haven't got any TV channels from there on my 1.2m Fibo but people like remlap did manage some. I'd say a 1.8m dish is the minimum for this satellite.

What are you actually trying to receive?
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Hi Captain Jack, thanks for your comment. Potentially I would like to recieve anything on Intelsat 1West like RTS 1 a BBC Feed or even Fox News for the matter but im barely that the last two will need a larger dish of reception. But in asking, did somebody managed to get Fox News on C Band since Lyngsat are reporting that Fox News is clear on 3722 R.
Even when I looked on Beams it was easier to catch BBC World Service rather than RTS 1 but some users claimed that they also got RTS 1 which requires more larger Dish because of Beam.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
I get both RTS and BBC on a 1.8 but not Fox, I struggled to get just the BBC using a 1.2m but you really need to find someone a lot closer to you to ask.
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Thanks Sleepy Hollow for your comment. It would be that Fox News is at the beginning of the frequency which even I on KU Band deprive some signals at 10730 H for example. But getting RTS and BBC is good on a 1.2m. I would like to try to recieve on a 1meter to see differences then I can upgrade. Even though for now I am focusing my eye on 1West where later I would like to try Arabsat 20East since the Beam is on me good and maybe 5West. Thanks again and would like to see if somebody catches the AFNEX (American Forces Network) also even encrypted which doesn't matter, just signal matters :)
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
No chance of 1W on a 1m dish. On the 1.5m I get 4025 and 4175 (just about). No other transponders. On 5W I get 7 transponders, and 6 transponders on 20E.

I would say you should consider a 1.8m dish as the absolute minimum starter system for C-band.
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Hi again Sleepy Hollow, the thing is that you got 2 different frequencies on 2 different C-Band Beams. I saw in forums that catching 5W on C-Band is easy and even Arabsat 20E for my country but I wish to test even if its a failure its a failure but may try with a 1.8 meter dish soon but the problem is that in my country no one supplements dishes larger than 1.2 meter and even 1.5 meter is rare to find, so I need to check international markets. Just for an instance where could I buy a C-Band LNB/F? To test it with my dish for results? Thanks in advance
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,747
Reaction score
8,638
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
You could make some extender panels for your dish, for C band they do not have to be as good as those made by VS elsewhere on the forum.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,332
Reaction score
898
Points
113
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Don't forget the FOX News feed seems to adaptive modulation (to tired to remember its correct term) so you'd need a TBS6925 or 5925 as well.

I have had limited success with my 1.2M Gibertini at 1w, the BBC Feed is all but useless, its just feed at odd times of the day for stations to rebroadcast.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
jamestt said:
Hi [...] test it with my dish for results?
You're wasting your time. 1m dish in C-band is equivalent to a 30cm dish in Ku, and you need a very powerful spot beam for that to work. C-bad satellites don't have spot beams; they put down their limited power over a wide area (either continental or global). This means your continent rather than your country is the important thing. I see this all the time with my setup. When a beam is meant for Africa Aceb, NelsonB and Vipersan have a better chance of receiving it on their 1.8m dishes than I do all the way down here on my 1.5m.
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
The only thing you can receive on a 1m dish in C band in southern England is 3E (I managed it on my Penta). Potentially some limited transponders on 5W and maybe even 20E.

There are some stronger transponders beyond 40W but I think a 1.2m would be needed.

I've no idea whether this is the case in Malta. Huevos is pretty much spot on with his explanations... you won't get far with a 1m.
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Thanks for the answers. I have told that I would like to experiment first on a 1meter dish then by far I would buy a 1.5 meter or try then to buy a 1.8 meter prime focused dish for C-Bands on Further Wests and even try Easts. I would like to point to Huevos about the BBC Feed, I need just to check If im able to catch it and on the Fox News Feed, couldn't work on a good DVB-S2 HD Reciever? If there is somebody out there expert on Sales, which C Band LNB is best to buy right now? and where can I get a good price for a 1.5 meter or 1.8 meter dish? Thanks all
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,924
Reaction score
11,364
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Captain Jack said:
The only thing you can receive on a 1m dish in C band in southern England is 3E (I managed it on my Penta). Potentially some limited transponders on 5W and maybe even 20E.

There are some stronger transponders beyond 40W but I think a 1.2m would be needed.

I've no idea whether this is the case in Malta. Huevos is pretty much spot on with his explanations... you won't get far with a 1m.
20E is possible with a 1m to a limted degree.

I got 3 tp's when I was experimenting with C-band last summer. When / if (!) the weather improves I shall have another go - the lnb is in safe store in the shed.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,609
Reaction score
6,086
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
jamestt said:
If there is somebody out there expert on Sales, which C Band LNB is best to buy right now? and where can I get a good price for a 1.5 meter or 1.8 meter dish?
Did you look in your local second-hand market?

And, by the way "the maximum permitted diameter of the antenna is 1.2 metres (if the dish is at roof level or above) or 2.2 metres (if located within a backyard or at ground level within the curtilage of a non-residential building);"
Taken from here _http://www.maltatoday.com.mt/2002/0609/l5.html

OK, it is actually other way, now if you are not in historic building than you can install big dishes :-rub
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
I could go beyond to 2.5metre through my backyard if I want but I want to go to 1.5metre (on Roof) or just 1.8 metre dish. Tried to look Rima but there aren't available since the only common to buy is a 1metre or 1.2metre dish however it is uncommon to rare to find. So if there is some international market which sells them just PM me if you don't wanna post here. Thanks
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,609
Reaction score
6,086
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
Half of the word merchant ships are under Malta flag (another half belongs to Panama). O-no Joke. Find one going to Latvia and I will give couple of 1,5-1,8 or even 2 meter dishes for small money.
Buying on-line, I do not know.... maybe e-bay?

P.S. Did you know that in Latvia we have village and small river named Malta? Not joke.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
35,747
Reaction score
8,638
Points
113
Age
60
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
If you are coming to the UK I would give you a petalised 1.8m for some bottles of Maltese vino. It would fit into a large suitcase as well.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
jamestt said:
I have told that I would like to experiment first on a 1meter dish

which C Band LNB is best to buy right now?
Experiment with a 1m dish and you'll probably be so disappointed with the results you'll not bother trying again with anything larger. It won't be any use on C Band so no real point trying it.

Some of us use the ESX241 LNB, cheap as chips and available online. I bought mine direct from the States, took about week to arrive and so cheap it didn't attract any customs attention or tax.
 

jamestt

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
100Cm Dish
My Location
malta
Thanks Rima for the offer, I thought you were joking about a river named Malta. I might soon give you a message on the dish later Channel Hopper and by Aceb thanks for recommending me a good C Band LNB. Saw it on Ebay and the price seems good. Will try to test it on the 1m dish to get some results and maybe post them too. Thanks for the help
 
Top