Setting up CM 1.8m on motorised polar mount

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Howdy!

Finally got the CH 1.8m dish, (Progress previously: https://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/1-8m-raven-install-begins.161028/)

Couple of questions..

From what I understand I have to set it up on the polar mount due south, so 0.8w satellites for my position in Scotland. What about the motor? Out of the box its fully retracted, so if I pop it on once all aligned at 0.8w it would only extend in one direction? Wouldnt I need to fit it half way extended.

Probably going to have a few other questions but that is the first one that comes to mind.


Really appreciate any help.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Mine is set so it is fully retracted when at it's westerly limit to give it maximum strength when it's pointing that way during a SW gale. Extend it half way, put it on the mount at 1W and line everything up, once you've got it tracking correctly then you can adjust the actuator to the most suitable side and position, it'll make no difference to the tracking accuracy.
 

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Excellent. Thats great news thank you.

Have the weekend planned to try set this up. Despite having two massive brass bolts to adjust declination and elevation there are no markings anywhere.. So I've had to order an inclinometer to manually set the lattitude. :(

I'm assuming I'm correct in saying I set my lattitude on the declination, which is the adjustment that tilts the entire dish + back support, vs the one that just tilts the dish?
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Is this the same mount as the one show on Satsuperstore, I can see two large brass bolts on that one. I use a free spirit level and angle app on my phone that does a good enough job. Have a read of this post from 4.6 onwards, ignore the fact it's for C band and is aimed for the US market. It explains everything clearly with lots of pictures! http://www.tvrosat.com/phpBB-3.0/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=1252
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Inclination (lattitude) will be on the mount at the back that adjusts the whole thing. Declination will be on the dish itself (not sure what it is for a CM dish but something like 23 degrees sounds about right).
 

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Is this the same mount as the one show on Satsuperstore, I can see two large brass bolts on that one. I use a free spirit level and angle app on my phone that does a good enough job. Have a read of this post from 4.6 onwards, ignore the fact it's for C band and is aimed for the US market. It explains everything clearly with lots of pictures! http://www.tvrosat.com/phpBB-3.0/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=146&t=1252

Hi,

Yes indeed we bought the insanely expensive SSS 1.8m kit, which came with no instructions! That guide looks superb. One immediate note is it's for a prime focus dish so my angles are going to be very different, Is there a calculator for offset dishes I wonder?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,822
Reaction score
8,008
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
It's very similar for the offset dish... the declination for the dish (section 4.7) will be around 23-24 degrees for you but once you set the polar mount up with correct angles, it will be relatively easy to find the angle for the dish - simply from trial and error.
 

samoloko

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
429
Reaction score
174
Points
43
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
1.8 PFA
My Location
EU
anyone recommend a place where to buy an Inclinometer
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Lots of them on Amazon.....UK/DE/FR/ES/IT......try whichever is most convenient for your location...
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Splendid set up guide on the above link.
 

pudapop

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
10
Reaction score
11
Points
3
Age
89
My Satellite Setup
c/m dish, snf-031 lnb, TM-5402 HD M2 C1 super receiver
My Location
N I
Howdy!

Finally got the CH 1.8m dish, (Progress previously: https://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/1-8m-raven-install-begins.161028/)

Couple of questions..

From what I understand I have to set it up on the polar mount due south, so 0.8w satellites for my position in Scotland. What about the motor? Out of the box its fully retracted, so if I pop it on once all aligned at 0.8w it would only extend in one direction? Wouldnt I need to fit it half way extended.

Probably going to have a few other questions but that is the first one that comes to mind.


Really appreciate any help.
Mine is set so it is fully retracted when at it's westerly limit to give it maximum strength when it's pointing that way during a SW gale. Extend it half way, put it on the mount at 1W and line everything up, once you've got it tracking correctly then you can adjust the actuator to the most suitable side and position, it'll make no difference to the tracking accuracy.
 

Attachments

  • Scan 8.pdf.jpg
    Scan 8.pdf.jpg
    297 KB · Views: 81

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,609
Reaction score
6,086
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
a place where to buy an Inclinometer
It is known well that best place where to buy stuff is internet (usually goods coming from PRC).
I've got quiet a few pieces of valuable equipment from e-shops. Main thing is to decide what you are looking for and then look for best seller, delivery or warranty conditions, etc.
And, today's items "Made in China" are in much better quality then items "Made in CHINA" several years ago. No quality problems at all.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20140921_225455 (Large).jpg
    IMG_20140921_225455 (Large).jpg
    109.6 KB · Views: 81

samoloko

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
429
Reaction score
174
Points
43
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
1.8 PFA
My Location
EU
rima
what type batteries use digital protractor from your post
which brand Is
 

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Thanks for the link to that guide again, printed it out for some bed time reading and it really is brilliant.

Suspect we'll get the dish mounted to the concrete tomorrow but aligning may have to wait, rather windy, so hardly ideal! :( Maybe Sunday can be alignment day.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,609
Reaction score
6,086
Points
113
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
what type batteries use digital protractor from your post
There is only one battery. I wish it was AA or AAA. But also with existing one no problems. Unfortunately device does not go to sleep automatically and if you forget to turn it off than battery going to run down.
Go to ebay.com and look for Digital Protractor, there are hundreds of offers.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20150109_171153 (Small).jpg
    IMG_20150109_171153 (Small).jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 54

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
Well managed to get the tripod base secured and level, Polar mount loosely on. Unfortantely progress has ground to a halt as the metal frame that mounts to the dish, the holes are a tadge too small, and despite trying a dremel to take the paint off the edges, and even a metal drill bit. No go!

Try find an SDS bit tomorrow.. Ah well!
 

Attachments

  • 16245215191_ef6cf8189a_b.jpg
    16245215191_ef6cf8189a_b.jpg
    282.1 KB · Views: 81

mapperuo

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
1,115
Reaction score
1,186
Points
113
Age
32
Location
Fife, Scotland
My Satellite Setup
2x 1.8m Raven
1.5m Gibby
2x 1.2m Gibby
My Location
Fife, Scotland
SDS with Chuck got through the metal easily, dish now on, yet to align it. When I try move the motor, the G-Box makes a click but the motor doesn't move, so will have to double check the wiring, But thats for another day. Totally exhausted. :(
 

Attachments

  • 16069506929_6c4d67e576_b.jpg
    16069506929_6c4d67e576_b.jpg
    232.3 KB · Views: 73

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,590
Points
113
My Location
uk
Looking good :), it could be the wiring but also check the limit switches inside the actuator are not set to stop ;),

I would be pleased to here from you when you get it set up what you get from the 1.8 that you don't from the 1.2 if you would be so kind :).
 
Top