ShowtimeArabia via PC Card and MediaPortal

errfoil

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
HTPC
My Location
Saudi Arabia
I just finished building a HTPC to feed a 56" DLP monitor. I would like to get rid of 1 more box.......

Is there a PC Card that will decode ShowtimeArabia? I am using MediaPortal as my shell on a WinXP system. Showtime is Irdeto 2 so the PC Card would have to read the smartcard (I have a subscription).

The EPG is also a bit tricky. Despite loads of searching I have not found an internet alternative. The DVB based EPG is only accessable on a Coship or UEC system.

I'm very new at this so please speak slowly! :)

TIA

errfoil

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
HTPC
My Location
Saudi Arabia
I have now discovered a PC Card called a FloppyDTV that holds a CAM so that I can use my Showtime smartcard. The card and it's twin, FireDTV, are both supposedly capable of reading smart cards with Irdeto encryption.

Is that all I have to worry about? Is all Irdeto interchangeable? I ask this because ShowtimeArabia changed their channel lineup and I lost two of my premium channels. According to their tech support the problem is on my end with my Humax receiver.

Does anyone know if Irdeto is problematic? Do I need to make sure my hardware is compatible with Showtime's, despite both being Irdeto capable?

TIA

SilicaStorm

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
HTPC, LinkSat on ArabSat and HotBird; Coship on NileSat
My Location
United Arab Emirates
Errfoil,

I too have built a HTPC with the goal to use a PC Card for Showtime. I have purchased the Showtime card 1 yr subscription.

Twinhan Azurewave DVB-S2 AD-SP400 CI Satellite TV Tuner

Installed and scanned for all channels on transponder was successful.

FTA channels are recorded using MyTheater software

Unable to use the Showtime card as Showtime requires a code to be entered to activate,,,, an so far to date, I have not determined how via a HTPC rather than the provided box from Showtime.