Signal lost after storm

S Whittle

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Freesat
My Location
Argyll
Hi there.

In July we moved to a house where the previous owners were using freesat. They left the dish etc there so we bought a Humax freesat box, hooked it up and were watching tv quickly. All channels were receiving a signal and we could watch them all.

About a month ago, some of the kids channels starting having too poor a signal to watch. Other channels were fine. Then, about 2 weeks ago, we had bad storms up here on the west coast of Scotland, and after the storms we had no signal at all for anything. We have just hooked up a Fringe Electronics Tv and Sat finder to the LNB and cable and there is absolute no pick up of any signal showing on the sat finder at all. We've never had satellite before and are complete novices. We have no idea what to try next.

Any help would be very gratefully received.

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
It sounds like your dish has moved, or the mounting come loose. If you have easy access to it you can follow the dishpointer guides and get your signal back, but it is a lot easier using a basic satellite meter.
It is also possible that your LNB has filed, and needs replacing, the cable has come loose, from the F Connector, or water has gained access, to the LNB, or cable.
Unfortunately there are no easy fixes, with this type of problem just physically checking each element.
One easy test is to try your receiver, on another dish, friens, or relatives, to ensure that the receiver is working perfectly.

S Whittle

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Freesat
My Location
Argyll