Sky and DVBviewer ?

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I'm finding this mighty confusing ..
Currently scanning channels into latest installation of DVBviewer on Windoze 7 build.
Manually inputting settings and performing scans ..
but half the transponder scans find zip ..
Now ..Im using my TBS card with dvbviewer and Carl ..so a big dish _might_ provide too much signal and overload is possible ..
But for example ..scanning the HD channels listed at Lyngsat between 12324 and 12460 SR 29500 ..finds nothing as does the last transponder scanned 12304H 27500 ..
settings used as in attached picture ..and again ..nothing found ??
Time to ask ..even though it may make me look stooopid ..
Are Lyngsats Sky pages out of date...or is there something I'm not seeing ..?
rgds
VS
 

Attachments

  • confusing.jpg
    confusing.jpg
    259.7 KB · Views: 56

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
..try again and select a transponder.ini first. But Transedit should take precedence ;)
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
..try again and select a transponder.ini first. But Transedit should take precedence ;)
..But what is the difference selecting an ini file ?
..as I prefer manual input ..so as not to miss ANY channel ...
ini's are rarely up to date ..I find
rgds
 

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
The internal scanner sucks. It stems from the DVB stone age. I.e., there's no possibility to select modulation paramerters.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
The internal scanner sucks. It stems from the DVB stone age. I.e., there's no possibility to select modulation paramerters.
That makes sense ..
No offence to Hackbart but I would have thought DVBviewer would be kept at forefront of development ...it is after all one of the most used apps for Sat cards.
cheers
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
So we all love Crazycats software for locating and analysing channel content ..but which application is the definitive one to use these days ..since DVBViewer isn't up to speed ..
Ideally I'd want all the features of DVBViewer ..plus the features that are missing ..
Having found the channels ..I want to store 'em ..and no one set top box has everything as we know ..
rgds
VS
 

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
Ideally I'd want all the features of DVBViewer ..plus the features that are missing ..
Having found the channels ..I want to store 'em ..and no one set top box has everything as we know ..
..use transedit, but read the manual first ;)
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
..use transedit, but read the manual first ;)
Fair enough buddy I will do just that ..
But perhaps a cue for Crazycat to develop a- viewer- based on his excellent software ??
I for one would buy it ..
rgds
VS
 

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
DVBViewer is meant for a couch potato who wants to watch, record and/or stream his favourite channels :)
Crazyscan is a tool for the hardcore dxer. You can combine the benefits of both, by using easy blindscan (or EBSpro). It will provide the transponder.inis for transedit.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
DVBViewer is meant for a couch potato who wants to watch, record and/or stream his favourite channels :)
Crazyscan is a tool for the hardcore dxer. You can combine the benefits of both, by using easy blindscan (or EBSpro). It will provide the transponder.inis for transedit.
As you know I'm more the latter ..but I do like to store channels and feeds I find ...
That sadly is the collector mentality in me ..so as you say ..best of both worlds.
cheers
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Ok ..sorted out EBS to create my own transponder lists ..but now have another issue/question..
I'm sure it used to be possible to organise the scanned channel list by frequency ...but damned if I can find a way to do this in the latest version of DVB viewer V5.2.9.0
am I just looking in the wrong place or have they dumped this feature ..
When scanning literally thousands of channels ...listing by provider/type is all but useless..
can anyone help ?
 

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
if you scan with transedit use category frequency. If you use the internal (crappy) scanner you can group the list by frequency.
 

Attachments

  • Snap179.png
    Snap179.png
    100.1 KB · Views: 47
  • Snap180.png
    Snap180.png
    50.4 KB · Views: 52

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,533
Reaction score
3,790
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Yes VS, that's how I do it. Go to Channel List and right click , choose Group By Frequency. As BF says, I use Transedit for that.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Cheers Guys ..
That did it ..
I was looking for 'Sort by' ...not 'Group By' ..
Insert red face ....as I can't find an 'embarrassed smiley..



Here's a few: :oops::oops::oops::oops::oops::oops: !
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
One would have been sufficient G ...
But I'll let it stand cos I deserve it
;)
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Ok ...think I have found the problem ...
..and it is imo related to the type of tuner card in use .
That is ..if the card cannot handle specific demod settings ..DVBviewer simply ignores the listing in the ini ..and moves on ..
but in the case of say ..the TBS6925 which can ..and dvbviewer core cannot ...then the scan process hangs and no progress is made ..
Thus the incompatible settings have to be edited out of the ini by hand before using with dvbviewer..

An example is this one :- from Astra 3B 23.5 E

Once dvbviewer encounters this from the ini during the scan ..the problems start.
The scan continues to completion ..but no more channels found nor added ..
Thus this channel cannot be added either from an ini or indeed manually.
rgds
VS
Some channels with SR27500 will not scan either ...but if changed to 27501 ...they will ???
 

Attachments

  • Penthouse.jpg
    Penthouse.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 52
Top