Sky Box, no picture.

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Spoke to a family member this morning, says his Sky receiver is showing the epg on screen, and he is getting sound but no picture. No "bad signal" messages. A strange one.
Has anyone else come across this? Before I go over there to start looking for a fault, it strikes me that the receiver is faulty, it's a standard sd Sky box with FSFS card.
Any pointers gratefully accepted.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,460
Reaction score
8,180
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
What Make/Model of Box is it, exactly?

Has the box been rebooted to see if the glitch disappears?
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Not sure, I haven't seen it in several years, so I couldn't say.
He did say that the original installer told him to periodically unplug itfrom power and let it sit for a few minutes before re-booting, so I guess he has tried that route, yes..
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,225
Reaction score
7,465
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Mine used to do it occasionally - just a blue screen with no audio/video or messages. A reboot normally fixed it.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,632
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
You could get him to unplug and refit his scart leads as well, but I would bet on the reboot solving things
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Thanks, I'll pass on the tips.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,147
Reaction score
7,298
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Topper said:
You could get him to unplug and refit his scart leads as well, but I would bet on the reboot solving things

If the client is getting the epg, then it's a board/component fault.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,632
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Channel Hopper said:
If the client is getting the epg, then it's a board/component fault.

True, I was guilty of speed reading....

so what was it then will we find out?
 

Chris76

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
334
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ duo with a 300gb hdd also dm500 and tecnomate 5200 with a 1m and 1.1m motorized dishes and minidish fixed to 28.2
My Location
Belfast
Off topic. Ian did you enjoy the ulster grand prix mate?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Absolutely superb, thanks, got a good spot under the trees just above Jordan's X, stunning action!
Good tv coverage too, thanks BBC NI!
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Topper said:
True, I was guilty of speed reading....

so what was it then will we find out?

Yes you will find out, awaiting a call to try to sort it for him, but I suspect the receiver too.
A good time for him to upgrade to a Ferguson Ariva 120 or 150 combi and get HD tv from UK and Ireland in one box!
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Spoke to him on the phone got him to unplug and re-plug the scart - problem solved, everyone happy!
Thanks all.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,632
Reaction score
3,839
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
excollier said:
Spoke to him on the phone got him to unplug and re-plug the scart - problem solved, everyone happy!
Thanks all.


Ho hum :-ohcrap I'd better carry on speed reading then :-righton
 

Miami Vice

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
hdtv compatibel
My Location
Jockgrim City
This is a strange one. I would always recommend that you try a reboot first. Usually fixes the problem.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,460
Reaction score
8,180
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Miami Vice said:
This is a strange one. I would always recommend that you try a reboot first. Usually fixes the problem.




It was a displaced SCART issue and has been resolved - a few weeks ago!
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,147
Reaction score
7,298
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
The EPG arrives on the RGB pins within the connector, to lose the picture entirely suggests the 'fix', may possibly be a loose solder joint has been temporarily joined by reattaching the lead.
 
Top