Sky+ Box, No subscription - External recording?

mccann

My Satellite Setup
TM 5200D USB Super
My Location
Netherlands
Hi,

I am a novice so please be kind :-)

I live in the Netherlands and recently bought a Sky+ box at a great price. I know, to use the recording functionality can only be done by paying a basic subscription to Sky. I'm receiving all the necessary free to air channels (I have no card). I was wondering:

I have a multimedia player with storage, I have the option to buy a tuner as an accessory to record onto it. The tuner supports DVB-T/ATSC scheduled recording (EPG). Would it be possible to hook up this external tuner with the Sky+ box? The Tuner itself has a coax connection. I want to try and avoid dishing out for a subscription/another storage device when I have nearly everything already.

Any suggesstions would be great.

Thanks,

Jonathan.

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Do you mean by connecting and enabling the RF2 out connection direct to the DVB-T Tuner?
If so you could not get the EPG and would have to manually set the channel on the sky box and set the time on the Tuner but assuming your DVB-T tuner can record from external sources like mine does I see no reason why not although it is not a very neat solution and you would lose all the benefit of sky +

Robbo

Retired Mod
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
The Sky+ box is doesn't have the Sky+ capability without a card anyway.

Yes, you should be able to do it using the rf out and feeding into the TV aerial in of a receiver.

A better option I think would be to get a generic FTA satellite receiver with PVR functionality. A Technomate 5200 or the Clarke Tech equivalent for example. Or even a Freesat PVR.

mccann

My Satellite Setup
TM 5200D USB Super
My Location