SKY + Fault

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
When the box is on a channel and you record there is no problem. As long as you stay on the channel you are recording then the playback is fine.

If whilst recording you change to watch another channel the recording shows on the front display that it is still recording. But when the recording is played then at the point that you change to a different channel the playback stops and says "recording interupted".

If you record 2 programs at the same time through the planner then they both show recording interupted and play nothing back at all. In the planner the recording shows the time it has recorded as correct (34 mins for a 30 min program) and you can start playback at anytime (ie 12 mins) but it will only show recording interupted. When you stop playback it will show last viewed as later than when playback started. Its as if the recording is there using hard drive space but can´t play it.


Both feeds to the box are 100% OK. It is not the incoming feeds.
I have done a Sky+ planner rebuild
I have done a Full system reset
The hard drive has been swapped
I have done a software update

Does anyone have any other ideas?

Thanks in advance
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Don't rule out possible card problem causing fault :)
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
The card I´m using is from my box and works fine in that ok. Obviously its not paired to the faulty box but this shouldn´t make make any difference - should it???:eek: Really wouldn´t have thought so.

Cheers
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yeah, you may have a point there Trig but as you say it's not actually paired so who knows.

All I can say is that in the past I have had weird and wonderful faults down to a card problem, like no signal would you believe it. Yes 'no sat signal r'ceived' on paid channels until you remove the card from the box and then it came up with the usual 'call 08700.... to subscribe'

All I say is don't rule it out altogether:)
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Thanks

I´ll get it paired and see what happens.

The fault you described with the no signal I´m sure someone else has a very similar fault on this forum. Mallorca rings a bell. Off to find it now.

Thanks again
Stay warm

Triggs
 

PoloMint

Super Minty Mod
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
1200cc with 100,000,000,000 neurons and 100,000,000,000,000 connections
My Location
Fife, Scotland
What is your signal strength and quality like on both inputs?
 

woborny

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
1,083
Reaction score
268
Points
83
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
1.8m Dish, most Sky and Freesat receivers, 80cm on Illusion motor and Dreambox DM7025, TDT, TDT HD, Ariva 100e,
My Location
Gandia, 70kms south of Valencia, Spain
If i rememeber correctly, a Sky+ card from another box will allow recording and playback of "free" channels, but not subscription channels.
 
Top