Advice Needed Sky in CZ (Dish Size?)

Andrew Donaldson

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
None Yet (Will get SKY if depending on size of dish needed for Úhonice (Praha Zapad) CZ.
My Location
Úhonice, Czech Republic
Hi, Newbie here and advice needed please:
Since BBC/ITV moved to the spot beam this year does anyone in CZ still get it and if so what size dish do you use? We live in Úhonice, about 25 Km west of Prague and considered rejoining Sky but only if we don't need Jodrell Bank in the garden!

Thanks for any advice/info!

AndyD.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,399
Reaction score
8,148
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Welcome to the Forum, Andy: Well I do recall we had a lengthy Thread on this topic not so long ago.

I'll see if I can find it and provide a link.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,399
Reaction score
8,148
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ok, try looking at the Posts and their host Topics made by Member Richard Hunt

There aren't that many, but it should give you an idea of the situation as it affects you.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,498
Reaction score
3,602
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Joining $ly will only deplete your bank account, it won't get you the BBC back. Both $ly and Freesat use the same transmission but present it in a different way. Same for ITV, C4, C5 etc.

I'll wait for Tivu to find the post as I can't be any more help but be prepared for the only advice to be a large dish.

EDIT

And he's back!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You are going to need Jodrell Bank in the garden to get the BBC / ITV channels back on the spotbeam.

So you need to look at an alternative route. If your internet is up to it there are any number of web sites streaming the UK PSB channels, although the do come & go.
 

Andrew Donaldson

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
None Yet (Will get SKY if depending on size of dish needed for Úhonice (Praha Zapad) CZ.
My Location
Úhonice, Czech Republic
Thanks for your replies, we do have good internet service (wireless from Rudna.net) and I had considered IPTV, but I liked the HD and Record/Series link on Sky. I had hoped someone locally in CZ had managed to do it.

AndyD.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The majority of the pay channels should still work, its just the spotbeam stuff that is problematical that far east
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Welcome fellow redditor to the forum.
 

Richard Hunt

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
17
Reaction score
19
Points
3
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
2.2m prime focus dish, Invacom LNBtwin flanged, Humax Foxsat receiver
My Location
Prague CZ
Hi Andy

That's me referred to above, not been watching much TV recently since the holiday.

I'm west central Prague and have a 2.1m dish which was rendered useless in the switchover at the beginning of the year. Before my holiday in July BBC and ITV channels would tantalisingly return around 21.00 -23.00, which is a good time for some quality viewing, but a very inconvenient window for my techies to do anything with (I am technically zero value). Since I returned from hols the weather both here and in the UK has been crap, and this is probably why as I speak I have blank screens for both BBC and ITV . So basically, we are shafted.

That said, if you want to try iPlayer on a free VPN I thoroughly recommend ZenMate. Two caveats; one it only works with Google Chrome at present, and two it does not allow the iPlayer download feature. But I am watching BBC via iPlayer with my laptop plugged into TV. Very acceptable quality with the possible exception of the footie.

If you enjoy drama series and the like on BBC or ITV there are other ways to download them nd watch them via laptop and TV in again very acceptable quality. I have recently been watching Wallander, Lilyhammer, and Mad Men by this route. PM me if you would like to learn more.

And if you have read my posts you'll know that I tried to investigate why we are not allowed to pay for a digital subscription for BBC, as I am sure like me you would willingly pay, but it seems the hassle of overcoming rights issues deters the BBC from spending management time on it, which I reluctantly understand.
 
Top