Sky Italia Dish

kevstarkie

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky TV
My Location
Cornwall
I want to get sky Italia for the football this season. What dish should I get? I'm a complete novice when it comes to this, I live in cornwall if that makes any difference. Thanks.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,961
Reaction score
11,408
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The easiest way to get it is a 60cm dish aimed at Hotbird 13E, and a Sky Italia receiver & subscription.

A zone 2 sky uk dish will be fine, and can be obtained cheaply from on line suppliers, or picked up out of skips for free - will be fine as long as its not dented! :D

Subscriptions can be had from our forum advertisers.
 

kevstarkie

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky TV
My Location
Cornwall
The easiest way to get it is a 60cm dish aimed at Hotbird 13E, and a Sky Italia receiver & subscription.

A zone 2 sky uk dish will be fine, and can be obtained cheaply from on line suppliers, or picked up out of skips for free - will be fine as long as its not dented! :D

Subscriptions can be had from our forum advertisers.

Any recommended retailers to get a zone 2 dish?
 

Tony1A

Never going back to Sky TV. Ever!
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
821
Reaction score
518
Points
93
Age
58
Location
Somewhere In County Durham
My Satellite Setup
Humax HDR1100S Freesat Recorder. Medion HD satellite box with Gibertini 1m motorised dish. Triax TD78 for Freesat. Triax TD64 for Freesat to 3 rooms. 2 Panasonic Freeview+ HD recorders.
My Location
North-East England, UK
You could always go on to Ebay. I got a Zone 2 (new) from a seller on there a couple of years ago!
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
.... or picked up out of skips for free - will be fine as long as its not dented! :D.

Not a problem, just hammer out any dents, lol ;)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Will be fine.
 

Tony1A

Never going back to Sky TV. Ever!
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
821
Reaction score
518
Points
93
Age
58
Location
Somewhere In County Durham
My Satellite Setup
Humax HDR1100S Freesat Recorder. Medion HD satellite box with Gibertini 1m motorised dish. Triax TD78 for Freesat. Triax TD64 for Freesat to 3 rooms. 2 Panasonic Freeview+ HD recorders.
My Location
North-East England, UK
Don't see any reason why it should not work. Just as a footnote, I favour the MTI quad output LNBs for the elliptical sky dishes. Not keen on those Visiblewave ones.
 

kevstarkie

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky TV
My Location
Cornwall
Might go for that then. Anyone else think an mti LNb would be better or will the one provided do the job?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
13E is such a strong satellite that even a small dustbin lid will work. The LNB will be fine.
 

Tony1A

Never going back to Sky TV. Ever!
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
821
Reaction score
518
Points
93
Age
58
Location
Somewhere In County Durham
My Satellite Setup
Humax HDR1100S Freesat Recorder. Medion HD satellite box with Gibertini 1m motorised dish. Triax TD78 for Freesat. Triax TD64 for Freesat to 3 rooms. 2 Panasonic Freeview+ HD recorders.
My Location
North-East England, UK
As I said, the MTI is MY preferred LNB. Your view may vary. I find them to be quite a robust LNB. :)
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Points
1
Age
55
Location
Somerset
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 1m Premium-X dish,Stab motor,with Technomate TM-6902 HD-T2 Super,Aston Simba HD Fransat,and Bulsatcom ZHD 200 receivers.
Bulsatcom,Fransat HD,and Tivu sat cards.
Satellite's covered 45E-37.5W.
My Location
Somerset,UK
Hello.
If you want,to get Sky Italia,you will need a dedicated receiver,and if you
want,it cheaply,go to ebay.it,where you can buy a receiver,and pre-paid card,
for £235.00 delivered!!!
Buy a convertor plug,on ebay,for a few pound,to convert,two-pin plug,to UK
three-pin.
Buy a decent satellite dish,in aluminium,if you can(not a SKY dish).as they
are cheap,anyway.
Get a CAI qualified engineer,too!
My motorised system get's 9,000 tv channel's,and i hardly watch,the UK,as it
is AWFUL!
I am an Italian football fan,and support AC Milan(FORZA Milan!!!).
Contact me,for more info,on satellite,if you like?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,961
Reaction score
11,408
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Ahem A zone 2 Sky dish will work just dandy with 13E. (Assuming its aligned at 13E not 28E!)

In most areas of the UK you will probably get away with a zone 1 as well.
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
personally id go with a trax td78cm dish, inverto black ultra lnb and L bracket. although about £20 to £25 more expensive they are good quality parts and easyly motorised in future if the need arises
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,961
Reaction score
11,408
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
To be honest 78/80 cm is overkill for 13E now all the old birds have been pensioned off and sent elsewhere / junked.
 

nasa1

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
45
My Satellite Setup
Remnants from sky bit have now switched to virgin. So my sky dish is still on the house, I have a sky plus reciever.
My Location
birmingham
Hi, this is similar to what I am going to be setting up so I might as well ask here rather than start a new thread.

I also want to set up a system to watch football on hotbird. Firstly is it only sky Italia , or do al Jazeera show english premier league. I'm in Birmingham.

I used to have sky, so the dish is still on my house. Can i just use this, and twist it to 13°? Will i have to change the elevation at all, or just twist it round?

From reading, I assume I won't be able to just use my old sky box. So will have to buy a new box and card through eBay or the site sponsors here.

Anything else I'm missing? Thanks.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,961
Reaction score
11,408
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Al Jazeera will be showing Prem games, but not on Hotbird!

Sky Italia will probably be showing some , but exact numbers of games arent known yet.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
You'll need to adjust the elevation a little as 13E is slightly higher than 28E for Sky. You should also check the LNB skew.
 
Top