SkyStar 2 - Software, softcams etc.

Stejc

Member
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
101
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DM800, Motorised Triax TD88, 45W to 39E. Digital+ HD subscription, TNTSAT HD Card.
My Location
Southport
Have just order a SkyStar 2, hopefully will get in the next few days.

I think it comes with DvbViewer, is this the best software to use with it or is ProbDVB better?

Also what softcams are best to use, and where can I find them?

I will be running on Windows.

Cheers

Ste
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,236
Reaction score
4,205
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
DVBViewer is fine, ProgDVB or DVBDream OK too.
Skystar 2 comes with DVBViewer TE, a little basic. Try DVBViewer Pro, available if you join as a member on

_www.dvbviewer.com/en/index.php

Then download Transedit from the member's section, a neat scanning application -better than the DBViewer one.

Llew
 

andz111

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
skystar 2
95 dish on motor
45e-30w
My Location
sussex
hi

I use a skystar 2

the best s/w for the ss2 is dvd dream its the best to start with as it is easy to set up and hardly ever crashes
dvdviewer is rubbish and progdvb is a bit hard to set up for a newbie

have you had a pc card b4? if not a good read on a skystar forum is worth the time.

dont install the drivers that come with the card go to the technisat site and d/l 4.4.1 drivers (ive had probs with the new 4.4.3 ones)

install these and then install dvd dream
quiet easy to set up
choose lnb
choose device B2C2 direct
add a satellite to the diseqc
point the sat at that sat
and scan or d/l a sat list or ask for mine

there are 2 softcams to use
vplug uses v-keys and v-sids
s2-emu uses softcam keys

vplug does most of the major channels and s2 is good for a few
both work together ok

most channels are autoupdate you just need to put a new key in
for polesat and absat when they change

if you have a motor you have to do a couple of things to make it work
as the original drivers dont support motors

if you have a motor let me know and ill tell you how to do it.

if you are looping through a stb make sure to turn it off b4 connecting the plugs and make sure everthing is secure b4 turning the computer on you can easily blow up a sat card. also they do use a bit of power so make sure you have a 400w+ psu 500 for a motor

hope that helps just ask if you need any s/w or help

andz
 

Stejc

Member
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
101
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DM800, Motorised Triax TD88, 45W to 39E. Digital+ HD subscription, TNTSAT HD Card.
My Location
Southport
andz111 said:
hi

I use a skystar 2

the best s/w for the ss2 is dvd dream its the best to start with as it is easy to set up and hardly ever crashes
dvdviewer is rubbish and progdvb is a bit hard to set up for a newbie

have you had a pc card b4? if not a good read on a skystar forum is worth the time.

dont install the drivers that come with the card go to the technisat site and d/l 4.4.1 drivers (ive had probs with the new 4.4.3 ones)

install these and then install dvd dream
quiet easy to set up
choose lnb
choose device B2C2 direct
add a satellite to the diseqc
point the sat at that sat
and scan or d/l a sat list or ask for mine

there are 2 softcams to use
vplug uses v-keys and v-sids
s2-emu uses softcam keys

vplug does most of the major channels and s2 is good for a few
both work together ok

most channels are autoupdate you just need to put a new key in
for polesat and absat when they change

if you have a motor you have to do a couple of things to make it work
as the original drivers dont support motors

if you have a motor let me know and ill tell you how to do it.

if you are looping through a stb make sure to turn it off b4 connecting the plugs and make sure everthing is secure b4 turning the computer on you can easily blow up a sat card. also they do use a bit of power so make sure you have a 400w+ psu 500 for a motor

hope that helps just ask if you need any s/w or help

andz

Hi

Thank you for that detailed post. No i have not used a satellite PC card before. I do have a motor though, can DVB Dream be used with that an USALS?

Will DVB Dream allow me to get 422 feeds?

Thanks

Ste
 

andz111

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
skystar 2
95 dish on motor
45e-30w
My Location
sussex
i found it quiet easy to set up except for the motor bit
everyone told me that it wont touch them but found a nice person that hacked the original drivers and put in the missing bits

it will work will most motors i have a stab hh also supports moteck and generic via diseqc 1.2
its meant to work with usals but
it actually works better than an stb as you can tell it where to move the motor for each sat and it saves it for each sat even has a nice prog that will search for the best signal so usals becomes pointless

most people seem to link though the stb and use there stb to move the dish but ive not had any problems with the pc moving the dish
also you have unlimited channels with the pc so you can scan all sats
ive got 22 in my list try doing that on a stb

yes it does 4.2.2 thats the man reason i got it for the sports channels/feeds you have to use the right codexs but theres at least 3 that do 4.2.2

might be a lot easier if i send you all the programs
i did write out a how to for someone else so its no prob
send me an email addy and ill send them to you

andy
 

andz111

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
skystar 2
95 dish on motor
45e-30w
My Location
sussex
not sure if am allowed to post web sites here but if you send me an email ill send them to you

nomail@nomail.com

cheers
andz

[fieldset=Admin]You can post links just make it inactive by preceding it with _ as in _www.google.com however posting your Email address is against the rules[/fieldset]
 

Stejc

Member
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
101
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
DM800, Motorised Triax TD88, 45W to 39E. Digital+ HD subscription, TNTSAT HD Card.
My Location
Southport
andz111 said:
not sure if am allowed to post web sites here but if you send me an email ill send them to you

nomail@nomail.com

cheers
andz

[fieldset=Admin]You can post links just make it inactive by preceding it with _ as in _www.google.com however posting your Email address is against the rules[/fieldset]

Hmm if you could go on _http://www.lfclive.net/contact.php that is a website I run and the contact form comes to me. Put your email address in and mention SkyStar2 in the box and I will email you back with my email address.

Thanks

Ste
 

Muad'Dib

Regular Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Fibo's 60, SF75, 90, 120 (motorized),
Triax Unique MF,
DVB-S2 cards
My Location
Germany
Stejc said:
Will DVB Dream allow me to get 422 feeds?

Thanks

Ste

ANY dvb software will do that, but showing you picture&sound depends on the installed codecs!
 

el_sharkawy

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
48
My Satellite Setup
dreambox 500
My Location
egypt
Thanks how can i update DVBViewer TE transponder
 
Top