Spell Checker for Forum Posts

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
There are many posts that are submitted everyday with spelling errors.
The messages can be understood easily, but it is important to check the messages spelling so that the search utility will bring another user relevant posts and threads.
Normally the search keywords are usually spelled correctly.
For example: If the search word is "image" and there is a post in the database with the word "imaje", then this post will not be retrieved.

There is a spell checker addon for Internet Explorer called ieSpell
_http://www.iespell.com which can be installed and it works with this forum software.

Firefox 2.0 has a built-in spell checker which works with the software.
 

Jumile

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7025+ with LT5, Penta 85 dish, Sky+
My Location
Berkshire
For other users, I think Google Toolbar provides a spell-checker. Lots of options. :)
 

T_G

The Consumate Dreamer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
6,666
Reaction score
222
Points
63
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
1 GigaBlue Quad plus, 1 Dreambox 5620, MOTECK SG2100A DISEqC Motor, 120 cm noname offset dish, Humax 95 cm offset dish and a few UK digiboxes.
My Location
Somewhere where the Sauer is Kraut and the Wurst is Brat
There is a spell checker, if you look at the right top of the message reply box, it says "ABC". Click in it, download the add on and off you go :)
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
T_G said:
There is a spell checker, if you look at the right top of the message reply box, it says "ABC". Click in it, download the add on and off you go :)

It depends on the browser.
In Netscape this is not available.
I switched to IE and I can see it now, thanks to you.
Now I have two spellers. :)
 

irart

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
216
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
Sky Freesat in UK,
Astra 1 ana/dig in UK
using Technomate -5000 DAPCI,
Astra 2 South Beam and Eurobird in Spain.
My Location
Cornwall, UK
Wot do we nede a spill cheker fur? I mange witout won ok.
 

easysat

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
323
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000S + motorised 80cm dish, Amstrad DRX550 Digibox + fixed dish
My Location
pj::
Reminds me of the old riddle attributed to George Bernard Shaw:
Which English word could be spelt ghoti?

Hint: gh as in laugh
o as in women
ti as in motion
 

4dbennett

lifes not a practice run
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
362
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
SPIDERBOX 9000HD, 1.2 and Humax Foxsat HD,Hitachi L500HDD
Acer Aspire 5315 Lappy
My Location
torfaen south wales
HB13DISH said:
There are many posts that are submitted everyday with spelling errors.
The messages can be understood easily, but it is important to check the messages spelling so that the search utility will bring another user relevant posts and threads.
Normally the search keywords are usually spelled correctly.For example: If the search word is "image" and there is a post in the database with the word "imaje", then this post will not be retrieved.

There is a spell checker addon for Internet Explorer called ieSpell
_http://www.iespell.com which can be installed and it works with this forum software.

Firefox 2.0 has a built-in spell checker which works with the software.

"Normally the search keywords are usually SPELT correctly"

OOOps!

regards dave
 

easysat

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
323
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 7000S + motorised 80cm dish, Amstrad DRX550 Digibox + fixed dish
My Location
pj::
4dbennett said:
"Normally the search keywords are usually SPELT correctly"

OOOps!

regards dave
At the risk of being labelled a pedant, spelled and spelt are correct according to the Oxford dictionary. Spelt seems to be used chiefly in British English.
 

jimbo

Retired Mod
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,482
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Sky HD, TM6800HD, Manhattan Plaza ST550 and TM1500 CI+. 1.0m dish and 36v motor, Panasonic DVD HDD recorder and Panasonic video/DVD recorder. Sony G800 HD TV stand/surround system + Sony KDL40W2000. Infinity USB, Elvis, CAS1, CAS2.
My Location
Greater London
I'm fussy about my own spelling but, in the case of others, as long as it can be understood then I'm not too bothered.

Mind you I do have a dislike of textspeak being used in forums such as this.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I do agree with HB, I have on occasions had difficulty or been unable to find posts using the search function, as the key words had been incorrectly spelt in the original posts.
 

T_G

The Consumate Dreamer
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
6,666
Reaction score
222
Points
63
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
1 GigaBlue Quad plus, 1 Dreambox 5620, MOTECK SG2100A DISEqC Motor, 120 cm noname offset dish, Humax 95 cm offset dish and a few UK digiboxes.
My Location
Somewhere where the Sauer is Kraut and the Wurst is Brat
Does the forum spellchecker work with Firefox Mozila as well?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I use Firefox's own spell checker. :)
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,513
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Whilst HB is correct, when you have members posting whose 2nd or 3rd language is English I think it is unreasonable to expect them to spell correctly but I would also like to think that Mods and Admins do not have to correct them although I have to confess I have indulged on occasions to spare blushes. Indeed some of the members object and get offended if you do anything at all to their posts.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I don't think anybody is suggesting that Topper, just that having a spell checker available can be useful, particularly if English is not the member's first language.

I do however very regularly change thread titles from really informative ones in the vein of "Heeeeeeeelp", "Please Help", "I have a problem", "Can anyone . .", "Software needed" etc, to something more specific. ;)
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
I use firefox as well, and whanever I make a spelling mistake all my mispelt words have a red line under them. Is this firefox or the forum software doing this?


The only problem is, that it is American spelling 'O'-red colour = red underline.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
That's Firefox Robbo. :)
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
54
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
I was just searching to find out whether Firefox could be changed to use the proper dictionary and found this:-

_http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=3233843

It made me chuckle anyway.:-rofl2
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
You can upload the British English spell checker at the Firefox site, that's what I use.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,513
Reaction score
3,797
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
_https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/browse/type:3

Was not working earlier but have just updated firefox and downloaded the British spellchecker
 
Top