SUITABLE MOTOR TO DRIVE GIBERTINI 1-1.2 mtr dish.

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
Here we go then ,anyone got idea's on the above question? Thanks again,Taff. Getting like Question Time now ain't it:-doh!
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Two questions there, a 1m can be driven by many of the standard DiSEqC motors, but the 1.2m in my opinion is too heavy for a DiSEqC motor.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yes, they do a polar mount for the op125. Should give you a solid dish that won't move in winds.
 

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
Hi,Sat'man thought there would be difference in the size of motor required to drive either one of the dishes ,thank's again ,Taff:-doh2
 

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
Rolfw, so motor such as Stab HH for 1mtr dish would be OK. But 1.2mtr would require other drive unit,Taff. :)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Stab, Moteck etc will be fine for the Gibertini 100cm. They also do a polar mount for the 100cm. I had one and it was solid in all weathers. Slight overkill but in exposed locations, well worth considering.

Although many DiSEqC motor specs quote 'will drive up to 1.2m', long term you will end up replacing the motor IMHO.
 

wium

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
147
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
85
My Satellite Setup
C and Ku
My Location
South Africa
You should only use an actuator,preferably 24 inch.Even 1M is dicey with a sat motor.Long term go for an actuator as well.
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Forget a diseqc motor on a 1.2, it's too heavy, 1m on the other hand is fine. I overlook the English Channel and the dish gets battered by winter storms but my old Moteck 2100A lasted five years before I replaced the system. On the 1.2 I'd suggest either the polar mount or if you like a challenge try the Moteck H180.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Been looking at this Moteck H180. myself ..to drive my gibby 1.3
Has anyone successfully fitted this to a gibby ..
The mount method looks like it doesn't lend itself readily to fitting a gibby..
Also ...what pole diameter does it accomodate ?
rgds

VS
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,517
Reaction score
3,775
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks Llew ..
I remember this thread ..but hadn't followed it to its conclusion..
Lots of info there from yourself Aceb and digi ..and about halfway through ..confirmed the Moteck H180. will mount on a 3 inch pole ..
Your installation has been up for a while now ..
Are you 100% happy with it ?...or have there been issues since the _erection_ ...(pause for some Llewed comments ;))..
???
rds
VS
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,517
Reaction score
3,775
Points
113
Age
78
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Passing on the - erm - puns, I'm now using a modified polar mount using the SMW one from my original installation, as the Moteck seized up when I drove it to , I think, 53E. Checking it on the bench, one of the cogs that turn the worm drive is stuck fast, but without disassembling the whole drive chain I can't localise the problem. Will no doubt have to be returned I think.

The SMW mount is working fine, a bit restricted for the outer satellites (only 45E - 45W), but I may be able to extend this by positioning the actuator mount point further from the polar mount - it touches the pole after 45W, and dumps the dish after 45E.
 

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
aceb said:
Forget a diseqc motor on a 1.2, it's too heavy, 1m on the other hand is fine. I overlook the English Channel and the dish gets battered by winter storms but my old Moteck 2100A lasted five years before I replaced the system. On the 1.2 I'd suggest either the polar mount or if you like a challenge try the Moteck H180.
thank's for that bit of info aceb, reading a thread somewhere on this forum last night about the Moteck H180, apparently the quality on this particular motor was poor something about casing lugs shearing under stress also bracket out of alignment perhaps this could have been a one off from a 'bad' batch? Anyone else have any knowledge of this type of failures with this brand of motor? Taff:)
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,637
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Been using it for a few months now, on a 1.2M Channel Master, without any problems, except getting it to track the arc correctly, that bit is awkward, and takes time. I still haven't managed the time to do it properly, I can get from 42E to 30W but I have not got the strongest signal quality at both ends of the arc.
Given time, and good weather, I think it's possible, but might mean some minor alterations.
 

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
Mickha said:
Been using it for a few months now, on a 1.2M Channel Master, without any problems, except getting it to track the arc correctly, that bit is awkward, and takes time. I still haven't managed the time to do it properly, I can get from 42E to 30W but I have not got the strongest signal quality at both ends of the arc.
Given time, and good weather, I think it's possible, but might mean some minor alterations.
hi micka, i guess this motor is not for a newbie then are they more difficult to setup than other makes?:confused
 

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
5,637
Reaction score
668
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
Actually they are easier, but they are made for the US market and so the adapter plates are reversed, as are a few other things. You need to drill 2 holes, on the bottom bracket, to get it to fit correctly, but geting these holes, in the right place, is essential as the adjuster, to set the arc up correctly, is limited.
I didn't get to spend much time setting it up correctly, due to the poor summer weather, and other things I had to do, so I've left it as I get near maximum signal on all satellites from 0.8W to 28.2E, which is all I'm currently viewing, in fact, due to limited viewing interest I've rarely moved the dish further than 9E to 19E, except for a feed, on 7E, for a United U21 game.
The adjuster bracket, for setting the arc correctly, is very fiddly and requires a lot of time, and patience, unless you're lucky and manage it first time.
I can still get the extremes of the satellite arc, 42E, 39E, 30W, etc.. but I'm only getting around 50-60% quality instead of 80-90% I expect.
 

digi247

In the Green Room
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
426
Points
63
Location
NW
My Satellite Setup
see sig
My Location
UK
I can still get the extremes of the satellite arc, 42E, 39E, 30W, etc.. but I'm only getting around 50-60% quality instead of 80-90% I expect.

Very similar to what i had when mine was installed on the Gibby 1.2, Quick plug mines for sale if anyone has the time to set it ip correctly LOL.
 

taff

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
Sat:nowt at present.Comp:Desktop.Asus Transformer Prime Tablet.Nad hi.fi:
My Location
mid glam. Lon:51.740124 Lat:-3.2967
taff said:
hi micka, i guess this motor is not fo r a newbie then are they more difficult to setup than other makes?:confused
Then I think that I had better give that one a miss as I have never ever set up a satellite system in my life , so to be on the safe side I had better try something a little more straightforward .:)
 
Top