Tapatalk, who uses it?

Tapatalk, who uses it?


  • Total voters
    28

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
There are questions as to the security of Tapatalk, please vote in the poll whether you use it or not.
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,818
Reaction score
2,364
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Not used it - Sats... uk won't let me reply without writing something)!:rolleyes:
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,565
Reaction score
3,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
You don't need to write your reply - in fact it won't be counted that way. You need to click on one of the radio buttons in the poll next to the statement that best describes your opinion (at a guess from what you say - fourth one down).
 

jeallen01

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
5,818
Reaction score
2,364
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Somewhere in England (possibly?)!
Paul

I did what you suggested about the radio buttons - but it did not allow me to "Post Reply" until I put some text into the reply box. So what did I do "wrong"?

PS: this question also came to mind: Why should I use Tapatalk?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,565
Reaction score
3,661
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Did you then click the Cast Vote button? That's all that should be needed.

It's not compulsory to (or even necessary) to leave any message. The Post Reply button is only used for when a message is left. It's working correctly when it won't accept a click without some text in the message box.

As to why you should use Tapatalk, my understanding is that it's a relatively easy way to use web sites on a smart phone or small tablet (phablet) especially when the site itself does not have a special mobile version. It's of no use whatsoever on laptops and traditional computers.
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
935
Reaction score
726
Points
93
Age
29
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
It's much easier to use the forum on Tapatalk than using the browser on mobile phones! I'd certainly be sad to see it go, but I didn't realise there were security issues with it.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,607
Reaction score
8,303
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ditto for Android Tablets. Really fast and simple.

As an experiment, I tried accessing the site via Browser on my Android Tablet today and was faced with a barrage of Ads and Pop-ups inviting me to use Tapatalk instead!

Ironic or what?

Edit: Actually, ISTR @Chris1979 started a Topic on exactly this issue, but I haven't managed to unearth it as yet.
 

s-band

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
971
Reaction score
1,439
Points
93
My Satellite Setup
1.5m IRTE PF, Octagon OSLO external Ref., TBS6983,
Various L, S, C, X & Ka bits. 1.2m S/X/Ku/Ka Prodelin on Az-El
My Location
SE UK
Ditto for Android Tablets. Really fast and simple.

As an experiment, I tried accessing the site via Browser on my Android Tablet today and was faced with a barrage of Ads and Pop-ups inviting me to use Tapatalk instead!

Ironic or what?

Edit: Actually, ISTR @Chris1979 started a Topic on exactly this issue, but I haven't managed to unearth it as yet.
I think I may have said, in the lost thread, I have no problem with Firefox on Android when using Ghostery and an ad blocker. One Google tracker has to be excluded on Ghostery to be able to log in to the site.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,607
Reaction score
8,303
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Interesting, thanks.

I'll have another search for the awol topic.
 
A

Archive-8

Guest
I still get the annoying pop ups, using ad blocking dns address.

Perhaps I should also try the router ad blocker.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,607
Reaction score
8,303
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
A

Archive-8

Guest
Have you got rid of tapatalk?

As the forum seems to be running very quick at the moment.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,283
Reaction score
7,502
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Posting this from Tapatalk. I never found the forum slow...
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
We are monitoring information on Tapatalk security, it's obviously not as big an issue as we thought regarding how many use it, more about the annoying popup for those who don't. The Popup would of course disappear if we had to get rid.
 
Top