Technisat SkyStar 2 eXpress HD PCIe

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Hi, I have just bought the above card, ebay item no 141003782818

I know very little about them but I have read that you can use crazy scan software with this card,

Q. please, do I have to download crazy scan?, Q, its an old pc that it will be fitted in and I don't think the graphics card will be up for the job ?. also will this card fit the pci slots I have ?, please view pictures,
and thanks in advance for any information.
 

Attachments

  • DSCN3518.JPG
    DSCN3518.JPG
    68.2 KB · Views: 188
  • DSCN3516.JPG
    DSCN3516.JPG
    129.9 KB · Views: 202

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
thanks C/J, is there any kind of an adaptor ?, are will it be a case of looking round for a cheap pc.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
You can get adaptors that'll fit into a spare PCI slot - Startech do them (search online for them).

The PCIe card is outrigged onto the adaptor. Be sure the card's profile doesn't interfere with other mainboard components, cabling etc.

Whether your existing PC is up to spec regarding the minimum graphics requirements (256 M:cool: of the Skystar you need to check.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Looks to be the chappy. I can't vouch whether that card will work in your PC though, I suppose it'll depend on whether the card's driver can find the device on the PCI bus through the adaptor?
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
thanks again Llew, looking at the price of them I am going to get a cheap pc with the correct fitting, is it possible to view 4.2.2 feeds with this card please vlc player maybe ?.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
OK, I was going to mention if the driver installs OK, here's links to Crazyscan files -

Crazyscan program -

https://sourceforge.net/projects/crazyscan

Streamreader (necessary for driver support etc. can be found on RICK'S wildfeed site here -

http://rickcaylor.websitetoolbox.com/post/Crazyscan-BLScan-Software...Post-Files-Here-5344588



Place all files in one Folder. I suggest Program Files, but can be anywhere.

Usually use Crazyscan on my main PC's TBS 6925 card,but have it working OK on my other computer's Skystar eXpress card, albeit with a little stuttering video on HD channels.

That PC's CPU and Graphics -

Intel Core 2 4400 2GHz

NVidea GForce 8500GT Total available graphics memory 1023 MB, dedicated video memory 256MB.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,286
Reaction score
7,509
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Didn't realise you could get adapters!
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
martin-f said:
thanks again Llew, looking at the price of them I am going to get a cheap pc with the correct fitting, is it possible to view 4.2.2 feeds with this card please vlc player maybe ?.
Don't see why not, haven't used that card for 4:2:2 as yet, but VLC is invoked through Crazyscan when you have resolved a feed with it, and as you will no doubt know, VLC has the codecs for 4:2:2.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
thanks again Llew :-worship I used to use an old eagle box to open 4.2.2 feeds using vlc player, I will have to start reading up again :-0,
is it possible for this card to drive a vbox please are is it better for a stb to move the dish ?,

@ C/J the cheapest I could find one was 28 pound :-0, I am might get a full set up for that.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Enjoy the card mate.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,286
Reaction score
7,509
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
martin-f said:
is it possible for this card to drive a vbox please are is it better for a stb to move the dish ?,
I am sure it can drive a Vbox without issues but not sure how well it drives actual DiSEqC motors...

Azbox can view 4:2:2 feeds on TV.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
I don't use a DiSEqC motor, I drive an actuator with my Echostar positioner; however, the Skystar has a Molex connector taking its voltages directly from the PC's power supply rather than through the PCIe slot, so presumably it should be beefy enough to run a motor (don't quote me though).
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
thanks again lads :-), I sold my azbox C/J it never seamed to find anything when scanning maybe it was me not using it right ?, but it had other issues zapping was very slow and it crashed most of the time even with the latest firmware so it had to go.
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
just an update, my card should be here tomorrow, and I have managed to locate a pc that should be here tomorrow, its an acer aspire T180 its got the proper pcie slot 2 gig of ram 2 hard drives 80 gig and a 250 gig but only on board graphics card but for 30 pound its a bargain :-),

I just need to order a graphics card now and let the fun begin :-).
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
albeit with a little stuttering video on HD channels
are you using vista Llew please ?,


Video is a different matter. If you're using Vista, both 8400 and 8500 cards can take on the full workload of decoding 1080p Blu-ray video, potentially allowing PC users to appreciate effects such as picture-in-picture. Silent models are common, and you should be able to find both half- and full-width cards to suit the size of your chassis.

Read more: Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS & 8500 GT review | PC Pro http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/graphics-cards/175572/nvidia-geforce-8400-gs-8500-gt#ixzz2XS8Tx7QY
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Never really liked using VLC with a GPU hope things have improved?
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
remlap said:
Problem is its not easy to get VLC to pass through to the GFX card, its much easier to let the CPU decode the video.
thanks remlap, how can this be achieved then please or is there a card that will do it better please ?.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
15,652
Reaction score
3,828
Points
113
Age
79
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
martin-f said:
are you using vista Llew please ?,


Video is a different matter. If you're using Vista, both 8400 and 8500 cards can take on the full workload of decoding 1080p Blu-ray video, potentially allowing PC users to appreciate effects such as picture-in-picture. Silent models are common, and you should be able to find both half- and full-width cards to suit the size of your chassis.

Read more: Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS & 8500 GT review | PC Pro http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/graphics-cards/175572/nvidia-geforce-8400-gs-8500-gt#ixzz2XS8Tx7QY
I'll check it out later Martin. I remember now that HD video displays seamlessly using DVBViewer Pro as the viewer, but VLC through Crazyscan gives picture stutter on the same channel(s).

Incidentally, I'm using Windows 7.
 
Top