Technisat SS2 bda drivers ?

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,665
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Hi friends ..
I have managed to get my hands on one of those elusive SkyStar2 pci cards with blindscan ..
I am trying to add this to an exising system which has an S2-3200HD pci card with dvbviewer software ...but am having driver issues.
I installed the card ...which asked for drivers (xp) when the pc boots up ..
I downloaded technisat software pack 4.5.1 ...and pointed xp at the bda drivers contained in the rar.
The install completed and dvbviewer now recognises 2 tuners
both devices the SS2 and the s2-3200 seem to co-exist ok .
The S2-3200 still works just fine ...but I can't scan any channels with the ss2 card.
..and after trying the s2-3200 card still functions ..but picture freezes ..until the pc is re-booted.
Are there ANY compatible working bda drivers for the skystar2 card ?
Its claimed the ones in technisats 4.5.1 pack are compatible ..but I suspect they are not.
certainly there doesn't appear to be any diseqc switching with these drivers.
Can anyone help ?
rgds
VS
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
Sorry, can't help much with SS2.
But I found MyTheatre software to work much better than any other DVB-S cards software for my Nexus-S. DVBViewer just wouldn't install and ProDVB made my PC hang and my heart lose a beat several times as I thought my HDD died.
Try the evaluation version just for fun and see if you get any issues like what you are experiencing now.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,665
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Thanks for the suggestion m8 ..I may well give it a try..
As for Dvbviewer ..I've never had any problems with it ...and am glad about that cos' I paid for it ..lol
Its been working flawlessly with the S2 card ..and will work ok with the origional SS2 & wdm (skynet) drivers ..
Problem there is that my system doesn't like the mix or wdm and bda drivers.
..Hence the need to make both cards function with bda.
cheers
VS
 

HB13DISH

Retired Mod
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
3,764
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
75
My Location
Middle East - Israel
The unregistered copy closes down after one hour, but you can reopen it again. Not really a big problem for me, except when recording.
 

Low Profile

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
364
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
DM800HD, DM7000 80GB HD with Asus WL330 wifi + 2GB usb drive, Skystar2.3, 2.2m Kinhuge Dish with Inverto LNB and Invacom ADF-120 feedhorn. Pace 1.3.25 and 80cm for Sky.
My Location
Lot, Dordogne, Correze border.
You have got Setup4pc running haven't you?

If not, try that.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,665
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Low Profile said:
You have got Setup4pc running haven't you?

If not, try that.

Hi m8 ..
I'm assuming its still running ok
I'll re install the whole driver package to be sure.

I do seem to have some probs with this card ..even when I do get it to run with wdm drivers.
For some reason when this card is running ..I get periodic short pauses in my system.
..not just when I'm running dvbviewer ...but the whole system.
For example dragging the mouse pointer accross the screen it is possible to see it hesitate briefly ...and when playing any video on any application there are tiny pauses for fractions of a second at regular intervals.
As soon as the skynet driver is removed ...or the card/technisat network adapter is disabled ...everything runs smooth again.
certainly an odd one..
rgds
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,665
Points
113
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
I have to admit ..I cannot see why Technisat have included bda drivers in the 4.5.1 software/driver pack if they cannot be installed without the skynet driver and setup4pc server software.
I installed the card/hardware ...it asks for drivers ...I point to the bda drivers which are installed without problems ...
..only they do not work ..at all
No diseqc control ..no channels scanned..
Ok I then run setup from the 4.5.1 pack ...
..which then goes away and uninstalls the bda drivers ..asks for a reboot ..installs setup4pc & DvbviewerTE (neither of which I actually want )...and the Skynet driver which reconfigures the card to its origional intended function as a network adapter ..
once again I'm back to brief pauses and freezes as the network adapter keeps attempting .....something...I have no idea what.
..but I do know there is now no sign of the bda drivers in my system...and I'm back where I started.
BDA drivers shouldn't require the card to be configured as a network adapter ....or should it ?
If it does ..then I can never get both my S2-3200 ...and the SS2 card to coexist and both use bda drivers..
oh well enough for tonight ...I'm confused and tired..
doh!!
 
Top