The amount of difference in signal high pressure makes

Steve_W

Reaction score
Website
southerndigital.tv
My Satellite Setup
60cm on Astra 2 with TM 7100 HD, Triax 80cm dish motorised with Icecrypt S3700CHD looped into TM 5302HD, WDTV Live, Xbox360
My Location
Thanet, Kent, UK
Just out of interest, down here in South East Kent, currently the atmospheric pressure is 1024 mb. Normal is around 950 (I'm led to believe, I'm not a pro!).

So when I connect my spectrum analyser to an incoming aerial to see what the signal is like, I'm seeing an increase of around 8db.

Is there any type of scale that exists to work out how much the signal raises or lowers according to pressure by frequency in mhz or UHF channel allocation? Lots of my customers are getting co-channel interference due to flooding from Belgium & France in certain coastal areas, it would help me if I knew.

I usually look at the propagation charts here for this info:

http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo_eur.html#hour6

And this for my local one:

http://www.worldweatheronline.com/Margate-weather/Kent/GB.aspx

Thanks guys!

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW